Honorary Doctorates

Eredoctoraten 2014: Professor BJ Casey en Professor Michael Sandel
Honory doctorates 2014: Professor BJ Casey and Professor Michael Sandel

Every year, Utrecht University awards honorary doctorates, usually during Anniversary Day on 26 March. In doing so, the University aims to express its appreciation for the person receiving the doctorate and their work.


The person who receives the doctor at is given a gown (cappa) with the red and white colours of Utrecht University, and granted the title doctor honoris causa (DrHC). The ceremony must also be attended by the supervisors appointed by the faculty, although their role is clearly different than in the case of a conventional conferral of a doctoral degree. Rather than a defence of the research, it is an honorary and ceremonial occasion.

Honorary doctorates awarded in 2014

Professor BJ Casey

Weill Medical College of Cornell University, New York City, United States of America, Sackler Professor for Developmental Psychobiology.

Honorary supervisor: Prof Chantal Kemner, Professor of Biological Development Psychology in the Faculty of Social Sciences.

Professor Michael Sandel

Harvard University, Cambridge, United States of America, the Anne T. and Robert M. Bass Professor of Government.

Honorary Supervisor: Prof Marcus Düwell, Professor of Mathematical Ethics in the faculty of Humanities


A more detailed list of the honorary doctorates awarded between 2001-2013.

List of honorary doctorates from 1936, sorted by name (pdf).
List of honorary doctorates from 1936, sorted by date (pdf).
List of honorary doctorates from 1936, sorted by faculty (pdf).