The Executive Board

The Executive Board is Utrecht University’s highest administrative body. The Supervisory Board appoints the members of the Executive Board after hearing the University Council. 

Professor Anton Pijpers, President

Anton Pijpers onderaan trap
Professor Anton Pijpers. Photo: Arnaud Mooij

Executive assistant: Maartje van den Berg
Tel. +31 30 253 51 50

Areas of responsibility:

  • coordination, strategy and organization
  • administrative and legal affairs
  • employee and student representation
  • valorisation and entrepreneurship
  • housing and campus development
  • safety and environment
  • communications & marketing
  • alumni policy and fundraising
  • external relations
  • internationalisation
  • regional collaboration

And temporary the following areas of responsibility:

  • finances
  • information- and communicationtechnology
  • facility services
  • sustainability

See also the profile and CV of Professor Anton Pijpers.

Professor Henk Kummeling, Rector Magnificus

Henk Kummeling onderaan trap
Professor Henk Kummeling. Photo: Arnaud Mooij

Executive assistant: Annemieke Hekking
Tel. +31 30 253 51 31

Areas of responsibility:

  • research and education
  • professorship policy
  • academic affairs 
  • student policy and student organisations
  • science and culture
  • university library
  • alliance Eindhoven-Wageningen-Utrecht
  • LERU, rectors league

And temporary the following areas of responsibility:

  • human resources
  • University Labour Representation Board
  • diversity and inclusion
  • European collaboration; Brussels
  • privacy

See also the profile and CV of Professor Henk Kummeling.

Vice President (vacancy)

Prof. mr. Annetje Ottow was appointed vice president from 1 January 2018 until 1 October 2020. A profile is available for the vacancy.

Executive assistant: Veronica Martinez Sobrino,
tel. (030) 253 34 68, email:

Secretary to the Executive Board: mr. Annemarijke Verhoeks
Tel. +31 30 253 30 75