PhD education and training

Education and training for PhD candidates of the Graduate School of Life Sciences is provided by the PhD Course Centre and the disciplinary PhD Programmes.

Starting from 2018, the PhD Course Centre needs to charge course participants a modest fee. We will handle two types of course fees: one for internal PhD candidates and one for external participants. Please note that you can use your personal course budget of €400/year (€1,600 max) to pay for these courses. This budget is managed by your department (faculty of Science/Veterinary Medicine) or your Division (UMC Utrecht).

PhD Course Centre

E.g., 03/17/2018
Monday 1 January 2018 to Monday 31 December 2018
Too late to register for your favourite course or is the course not available right now? Register for our waiting list to be in time for the next course!
Monday 19 March 2018 09:30 to 12:00
Handling raw towards consistent data is a crucial step in your research. This workshop covers the basics of raw data handling in R.
Tuesday 20 March 2018 15:00 to 18:00
During this event you may attend a workshop on networking and mingle with alumni and employers during the information market.
Thursday 22 March 2018 09:00 to Thursday 26 April 2018 12:00
This course is fully booked! Please sign up for the next course from May 28 up to July 2, 2018.
Thursday 29 March 2018 16:30 to 19:30
On Friday 29th March the first gathering for all Life Sciences postdocs in Utrecht will take place from 16:30-19:30. Including drinks and bites!
Monday 2 April 2018 to Sunday 29 April 2018
You will learn what makes a grant proposal more likely to succeed and how you can apply this insight to your own grant proposal.
Friday 6 April 2018 12:00 to 13:30
Two speakers share their official story and, most importantly, their unofficial story on what it is like to grow up in science.
Monday 9 April 2018 09:00 to Tuesday 10 April 2018 18:00
The ‘PhD Activating Career Event’ (PhACE) aims to help PhD's at the end of the doctorate to think about their future career.
Wednesday 11 April 2018 10:00 to Wednesday 25 April 2018 13:00
This course is fully booked! Please sign up for the next course from May 8 up to May 22, 2018.
Monday 16 April 2018 09:00 to Friday 20 April 2018 17:00
This one-week course aims to give an overview of techniques used in proteomics, particularly mass spectrometry, along with examples of their application.