Academic calendar

Utrecht University's academic year is divided into two semesters, each consisting of two periods. Lectures, classes and exams take place in these periods, although some programmes may slightly differ from the dates below.

Check your programme's timetable to see the exact dates. The only exception to this is the Christmas break, during which there are no educational activities, tests or resits.


Semester I

  • Start period 1: Monday 2 September (week 36)
  • Start period 2: Monday 11 November (week 46)

Non-teaching days: Monday 23 December till Friday 3 January (week 52 en week 1)

Semester II

  • Start period 3: Monday 3 Februari (week 6)
  • Start period 4: Tuesday 22 April (week 17)

End period 4: Friday 27 June (week 26)

* Note: For students of the faculty of Humanities the winter break starts on 26 December and ends on 13 January.