Fees & Finances for Degree Students

Tuition Fees

University College Utrecht has two types of tuition fees: 

  • For students that are EEA-citizens (European Economic Area) and citizens from Switzerland and Suriname;
  • For students from other countries.

EEA-citizens and citizens from Switzerland and Suriname with a SEPA account can pay the tuition fees in one or five instalments.

Students from other countries must pay the tuition fee in one instalment in their first year as part of their visa application. For their second and third year they can also pay in installments.

Campus Fees

All students can pay the campus fees in either one, two, four or nine instalments. Please see the FAQ for more details.

Cost Overview 2024 - 2025


EEA1 students,
Switzerland, Suriname 

Non-EEA studentsEEA with Dutch
BA/MA degree
Tuition fee (paid to UU)€ 5.251€ 16.034€ 14.128
Visa/residence permit(Please see below) € 257 More information 

Campus fees
(Please see below)

€ 8.110*€ 8.110*€ 8.110*
UCSA membership€ 73€ 73€ 73
Total per year€ 13.434*€ 24.474*€ 22.311*

*Campus fees stated are for 2024-25. Please click the button below for an explanation about the increase from last year. 

Increase of campus fees 2024-25

Cost Explanation

Next to the tuition fee, students pay for the University College Student Association (UCSA) membership fee and campus fee for living on campus. The campus fee covers the housing, including campus facilities, water, electricity, Wi-Fi.

Further costs that are not included within the tuition or campus fees are personal expenses such as food, clothes, books, sports, insurance, and travel during the holidays. Non-EEA students also pay for a visa/residence permit. Please see below for a breakdown of the campus fees for the previous year, 2023-24.

Breakdown of the campus fees 2023-24
More information about living on campus
Possibilities for financial support

1 EEA countries are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Slovak Republic, Spain, Sweden. (Switzerland and Suriname are not EEA countries but pay the same fees).

2Students who require an entry visa/residence permit have to pay an application fee, and pay this and the tuition fee in one instalment in advance, as it is part of the requirements in order to obtain an entry visa/residence permit. From the second year, they can pay in one or five instalments, provided they have a bank account in a SEPA country. Visit this page for more information