Organisation and Governance

University College Utrecht is an international college, and part of Utrecht University. The organisational structure is as follows:

How we work together

The Dean has the overall responsibility. He develops strategy and educational policy, and maintains internal and external contacts. The Director of Education – together with the Heads of Department – has a delegated responsibility for the academic programme, admissions decisions and management of the academic staff. The Managing Director is responsible for management of facilitating supporting staff, support to academic staff, supervision of administrative processes, and the facilitation and execution of the College policies. The main task areas are: (international) recruitment, communication and marketing, alumni affairs, admissions processes, registration and curriculum management, career development, student life affairs, campus facilities, finance, HR and secretarial support.

The Dean, the Director of Education, the Managing Director and the student assessor jointly act as the Management Team, chaired by the Dean and supported on strategic issues by a policy advisor.

Heads of Departments have a delegated responsibility for the academic programme within their departments. 

The Board comprises the Dean, the Director of Education, the Managing Director, the Heads and the Head Tutor, the student assessor and is responsible for policy development, for the finances, and for monitoring the performance of the organization. The Board is chaired by the Dean.

The Board of Studies comprises the Director of Education, the Heads, the Director of Faculty Development, a member of the Tutor team, a student (non-UCU Council member of the Academic Student Council) and a member of the academic staff.  It has a delegated responsibility for the content of the curriculum.

The Exam Board is the body that assesses, in an objective and expert manner, whether a student satisfies the requirements set in the teaching and examinations regulations in relation to the knowledge, insight and skills necessary to obtain a degree. It is also responsible for the conduct of examinations and assessment and has the task to guarantee the quality of assessment.

The Assessment Committee works closely together with the Exam Board and thoroughly monitors the educational content (tracks and theses) within the program. It is charged to provide recommendations to the Board on matters related to the assessment of student development programs.

Students will usually need to get approval in advance from the Exam Board for any deviation or exception from the regular study program. The Exam Board also handles cases of fraud or plagiarism committed by students. Members of the Exam Board and Assessment Committee are senior members of the academic staff, representing the three departments. 

Departmental Organisation

The core activity of University College Utrecht is education within and in cooperation between its three departments: Humanities, Sciences and Social Sciences.

UCU Organization

Each Head of Department is responsible for the academic programme within her/his department. The Head of Department organises the variety and the coherence of course offering and tracks, the quality control of teaching and of the educational process, the quality control of the exit level in the fields within the department, student and faculty participation in ongoing departmental concerns, and the academic advice to students within the department.

The Heads of Department are assisted by Fellows, who are appointed by the Dean in specific disciplines. Fellows play an important role in curriculum development. They also act as a liaison with faculties and graduate programmes at Utrecht University, and as academic advisors to the students within a specific discipline or field.

The Head Tutor has delegated responsibility for the functioning and coordination of the tutorial system. The Head Tutor prepares and chairs tutorial board meetings, manages the group of tutors, and makes sure that all tutorial tasks are properly allocated.

Governance Participation

The Dutch Law on Higher education prescribes participation of student and personnel representatives in governance with the purpose of safeguarding their respective interests in decision making:

The University College Utrecht Council is the body that safeguards participation of staff and students in the College governance. It fulfills the joint tasks that are attributed by Dutch law to the “Opleidingscommisie” (Degree Program Committee) and “Faculteitsraad” (Faculty Council). The College Council monitors the curriculum through periodic review to see that as a whole it conforms to the Academic Rules and Regulations. The College Council has 8 members, 4 of them elected from and by the staff and 4 from and by students, as required by Dutch Law. The students are united with the Student Assessor and a sixth member (the secretary) in the Academic Student Council (ASC). The College Council advises the Dean on all governmental issues regarding the College and on the interests of its personnel. This body must be consulted yearly prior to decisions by the Dean on curriculum, academic rules and procedures, and budget for education.