Best Master's Thesis

The Best Master's Thesis Award is an annual award. The award winner will be announced during the ceremony for the new Academic Year in September.

The winner will receive an award which consists of a certificate and €1,500.

Latest news

Prijswinnaar Avin Ghedri (midden) poseert met Berent Prakken, Annetje Ottow, Minister Ingrid van Engelshoven en Gönül Dilaver
21 September 2018
Avin Ghedri wins the ECHO Award 2018 for her contribution to uniting groups with both Western and non-Western backgrounds




Nominees need to meet certain specific criteria. The submitted graduate thesis must for instance have received a mark of at least an 8.5. You cannot submit your thesis yourself; the thesis has to be submitted by the Director of Education or the Research Director of the Master’s programme for which the thesis was written.

Candidates can be nominated until 1 June 2019.

Download the full list of criteria (pdf), Best Master’s Thesis category

THE JURY - 2018-2019

  • Prof Dr B. (Belle) Derks, Social and Behavioural Sciences
  • Prof Dr P. (Peter) Driessen, chair, Geosciences
  • Prof Dr ir. J. (Jos) Malda, UMC Utrecht and Veterinary Sciences
  • Prof Dr E. (Elaine) Mak, Law, Economics and Governance
  • Prof Dr A. (Andries) Meijerink, Natural Sciences
  • Dr G.T. (Gjalt) Prins, Sciences
  • Dr C. (Christianne) Smit, Humanities
  • Dr S. (Sabine) Uijl, University College Utrecht

Secretary: H.A.Z.F. (Fee) Romein, Corporate Office

More information: Fee Romein (, Student and Academic Affairs’ Office


Also see the Archive of thesis awards, for the nominees and winners of previous years.