Best Master's Thesis

The Best Master's Thesis Award is an annual award. The award winner will be announced during the ceremony for the new Academic Year in September.

The winner will receive an award which consists of a certificate and €1,500.

Latest news

Emma Luitjens, Georgios Agkavanakis, Yurhan Kwee, Janin Herkrath, Rushi Sanjeev Mehta, Franco Grosso Giordano
9 July 2018
Students from the Master’s programme Bio-Inspired Innovation have made it to the finals of the international Biomimicry Global Design Challenge




Nominees need to meet certain specific criteria. The submitted graduate thesis must for instance have received a mark of at least an 8.5. You cannot submit your thesis yourself; the thesis has to be submitted by the Director of Education or the Research Director of the Master’s programme for which the thesis was written.

Candidates can be nominated until 1 June 2019.

Download the full list of criteria (pdf), Best Master’s Thesis category

THE JURY - 2018-2019

  • Prof Dr B. (Belle) Derks, Social and Behavioural Sciences
  • Prof Dr P. (Peter) Driessen, chair, Geosciences
  • Prof Dr ir. J. (Jos) Malda, UMC Utrecht and Veterinary Sciences
  • Prof Dr E. (Elaine) Mak, Law, Economics and Governance
  • Prof Dr A. (Andries) Meijerink, Natural Sciences
  • Dr G.T. (Gjalt) Prins, Sciences
  • Dr C. (Christianne) Smit, Humanities
  • Dr S. (Sabine) Uijl, University College Utrecht

Secretary: H.A.Z.F. (Fee) Romein, Corporate Office

More information: Fee Romein (, Student and Academic Affairs’ Office


Also see the Archive of thesis awards, for the nominees and winners of previous years.