Educational organisation

Education at Utrecht University is provided by the seven faculties, the Undergraduate Schools, the Graduate Schools and the two teaching institutes.

Faculties and departments

Utrecht University has seven faculties, each of which is divided into departments. The departments coordinate the teaching and research for a particular discipline. The teaching in the faculties is organised by the Undergraduate and Graduate Schools, led by a board of studies. These are responsible for the content of the Bachelor's, Master's and PhD programmes. The departments work together with the Schools.

Undergraduate schools

Each faculty has one or more Undergraduate Schools. These Undergraduate Schools work together with the faculty departments to provide the undergraduate education.

Graduate schools

Master's students and PhD candidates at Utrecht University are assigned to one of the university's seven Graduate Schools. Each School comprises a number of Master's and PhD programmes in related areas. This creates a stimulating context in which Master's students, PhD candidates and researchers can meet and interact.

Teaching institutes

In addition to the faculties, Utrecht University has two undergraduate honours programmes which are taught entirely in English.


Each faculty has its own service department that includes Educational and Student Affairs (OSZ). Students and staff can consult OSZ for matters such as enrolment in courses and programmes, timetables, course catalogues, study-related counselling, studying abroad, etcetera.

Educational support is also provided by Academic Affairs. The Student Counselling Office provides guidance to students on matters including study choices and other study-related and personal problems, and assists the faculties in student supervision. The Student Affairs & International Office answers questions on study-related issues such as enrolment and financial assistance for students, provides support for students on international exchange schemes and supports faculties in the admission of international students.