Vliegenthart Thesis Award

Did you write a Master's thesis in 2018 in the category Life Sciences, and was your work graded with an 8 or higher? Then you can compete for the Vliegenthart Thesis Award. The deadline for submission is Thursday 24 January

The award was instituted to mark Prof Dr Hans Vliegentharts retirement as chairman of the Utrecht University Fund in 2004. The idea was and is to show a talented student to the world outside and especially the alumni community. The award consists of €2.000,- and is awarded in turn in the disciplines of the Humanities, Life Sciences, Science and Social and Behavourial Sciences. Check out the award regulations for the contact details and a full overview of criteria and the procedure.

Aafje de Roest wint Vliegenthart Scriptieprijs
The award ceremony of the Vliegenthart Thesis Award 2017

2017 WINNER: Aafje de Roest

During the University Day of Utrecht University on 14 April 2018, the Vliegenthart Thesis Award2017 was awarded to Aafje de Roest (24), alumna of the research master Dutch literature. De Roest's thesis, titled 'Buurtvaders: a critical reading of the performance of represent by four Dutch hip-hop artists', struck the jury "because it successfully dares to go off the beaten track." De Roest won an amount of € 2.000, - that is free to spend. From the jury report: "By analyzing texts, interviews and performances by rappers Hef, Broederliefde, Ares and Killer Kamal on how they express the way they view the Netherlands and the rest of the world, Aafje convincingly argues that globalizing hip-hop trends form the US maintain a very local yet credible character when used in a Dutch context.”

Iris Bouman (24), alumna of the research master Musicology, received an honorable mention for her thesis on the relationship between operetta and national-socialist ideology in Berlin between 1934 and 1937. Peter Nieuwenhuizen, alumnus of the part-time master Dutch language and culture, received an honorable mention for his thesis on the distribution dynamics of sixteenth-century anonymous Dutch texts by printers in Antwerp.

Previous winners of the Vliegenthart Thesis Award

2016 Roel van den Broek - Train Shunting and Service Scheduling: an integrated local search approach
2015 Eva Heeger - Controlling your online profile: reality or an illusion? A research into informed consent as a mechanism to regulate commercial profiling
2014 Linda Henricks - What is the role of RasGRP1 and SOS1 in colorectal cancer?
2013 Tabitha van Zinnen - Pussy Riot's Punk Prayer: Blasfemie, parrèsia en de strijd om vrijheid
2012 Max Potters - Equilibrium Statistical Mechanics of the 2D Euler and Shallow Water Models
2011 Koen Docter - Cruel murderers, dangerous fanatics or exotic strangers
2010 Kay Wiebrands - A role of epithelial-mesenchymal transitions in carcinogenic progression
2009 Isis Bûtot - The Literary as Translation: The Linguistic Homelessness of the Language of the Novel
2008 Filip Schuurman - Dynamics of Sharp Meander Bends on an Intertidal Mudflat
2007 Luuk Slooter - Cité Dreams: An Analysis of the French Suburban Riots of 2005
2006 Hinze Hogendoorn - The state of the art in visual object recognition
2005 Frédérique Brinkerink - Canova à Paris, Chinard à Rome





Prof Hans Vliegenthart was Chairman of the Utrecht University Fund from 1999 until 2004. His chairmanship was of great significance for the University and the University Fund alike. Starting in the 1990s, Utrecht University and the Utrecht University Fund made significant efforts to achieve good contacts with graduates. The guiding principle was the need for a joint alumni policy. Since 1999, the University-wide alumni policy and the duties of the University Fund have been integrated in a single organisation.


Hans Vliegenthart is an eminent scientist, who has published hundreds of articles, especially in the field of organic chemistry.

He has achieved multiple awards for his scientific achievements, including:

  • Membership of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (1990);
  • Honorary doctorates at the University of Debrecen, Hungary (1992), University for Science and Technology in Lille, France (1993) and University of Stockholm, Sweden (1997);
  • Knight of the Order of the Netherlands Lion (1998);
  • Utrecht University Silver Medal (2003).


For contact details and a full overview of criteria, see the Award Regulations.