Through its research groups, the Department of Chemistry participates in three research institutes within the university.

1. Debye Institute for Nanomaterials Research

This Institute is a collaboration between the Department of Chemistry and the Department of Physics & Astronomy.

Groups from the Department of Chemistry: 

2. Bijvoet Center for Biomolecular Research

3. Utrecht Institute for Pharmaceutical Sciences

The department of Chemistry is closely associated with the Chemistry education group of the Freudenthal Institute for Science and Mathematics Education.