Recent alumni

This is an overview of former PhD students of the Mathematical Institute from the last 3-4 years.


Kristoffer Andersson
Thesis: Neural networks for stochastic control and decision making in mathematical finance
Supervisors: Kees Oosterlee and Lech Grzelak

Andreas Tataris
Thesis: Gelfand-Levitan-Marchenko and model order reduction methods in inverse scattering
Supervisors: Sjoerd Verduyn Lunel, Tristan van Leeuwen and Ivan Pires de Vasconcelos

Yuqing Shi
Thesis: Unstable Periodic Homotopy Theory
Supervisors: Ieke Moerdijk and Gijs Heuts

Giacomo Lancia
Thesis: Interpretable predictions with Convolutional Neural Networks for complex data
Supervisors: Jason Frank en Cristian Spitoni


Jack Davies
Thesis: Stable operations and topological modular forms
Supervisors: Ieke Moerdijk and Lennart Meier

Maarten Mol
Thesis: Hamiltonian actions of compact type from a Poisson point of view
Supervisor: Marius Crainic

Sergej Monavari
Thesis: Equivariant Enumerative Geometry and Donaldson-Thomas Theory
Supervisors: Carel Faber and Martijn Kool

Jetze Zoethout
Thesis: Computability Models and Realizability Toposes
Supervisors: Ieke Moerdijk en Jaap van Oosten

Sjors Stouten
Thesis: Mathematical modeling of radioresistance and radioleukemogenesis
Supervisors: Sjoerd Verduyn Lunel and Fieke Dekkers

Dominik Engl
Thesis: Variational analysis of multiscale problems with differential constraints
Supervisors: Carolin Kreisbeck and Sjoerd Verduyn Lunel

Xin Liu
Thesis: Numerical method and application of optimal control problem
Supervisor: Jason Frank


Bart de Leeuw
Thesis: On shadowing methods for data assimilation
Supervisors: Jason Frank and Svetlana Dubinkina

Luca Accornero
Thesis: Topics on Lie pseudogroups
Supervisor: Marius Crainic

Aldo Witte
Thesis: Between generalized complex and Poisson geometry
Supervisors: Marius Crainic and Gil Cavalcanti

Jan-Willem van Ittersum
Thesis: Partitions and quasimodular forms, Variations on the Bloch–Okounkov theorem
Supervisors: Gunther Cornelissen and Don Zagier

Nick Luiken
Thesis: Regularization of linear inverse problems
Supervisors: Rob Bisseling, Tristan van Leeuwen and Eric Verschuur

Carlo Verschoor
Thesis: Monodromy Properties of A-hypergeometric Functions
Supervisor: Frits Beukers


Dusan Joksimovic
Thesis: Locally uniform existence of leafwise fixed points for C0-small Hamiltonian flows & generating systems of symplectic capacities
Supervisors: Marius Crainic and Fabian Ziltener

Timo Kluck
Thesis: Dimensional & algorithmic reductions for Calogero-Ruijsenaars & Landau-Ginzburg models
Supervisors: Gunther Cornelissen, Ana Ros Camacho and Johan van de Leur

Harry Smit
Thesis: Relating Galois representations via L-series and dynamical systems
Supervisor: Gunther Cornelissen

Lauran Toussaint
Thesis: Contact Structures & Codimension-one Symplectic Foliations
Supervisor: Marius Crainic

Francesco Cattafi
Thesis: A general approach to almost structures in geometry
Supervisor: Marius Crainic

Sehar Iqbal
Thesis: Numerical Methods for Nonlinear Elliptic Boundary Value Problems with Parameter Dependence
Supervisors: Rob Bisseling and Paul Zegeling

Sangeetika Ruchi
Thesis: Parameter Estimation in Random Energy Systems using Data Assimilation
Supervisors: Jason Frank and Svetlana Dubinkina