Utrecht Young Academy welcomes ten new members

Last week, the Utrecht Young Academy (UYA) selected ten new members. The Utrecht Young Academy connects young academics from Utrecht University who have obtained their PhD less than eight years ago to exchange critical perspectives on academia, policy, and society in Utrecht and beyond. 

Potential candidates could nominate themselves and directly apply for an UYA membership. The members of UYA come from various backgrounds and disciplines. This allows members to become familiar with each other's fields of expertise and enables them to discuss important topics like interdisciplinarity and science policy. Members can start projects together to organise a variety of activities for scholars, students and the public. We look forward to the exciting new ideas and contributions of our ten new members. 

Members are appointed for a period of 5 years. Next year, eligible candidates (having obtained their PhD less than 8 years ago) can be nominated by the deans of Utrecht University, programme directors of the Strategic Themes, members of The Young Academy from Utrecht and PhD councils. See the website to learn more about UYA. 

Congratulations to our new members:


Dr. Koen Beumer


Dr. Michelle van Vliet


Dr. Lorena De Vita


Dr. René Koekkoek

Law, Economics and Governance

Dr. Rianne Dekker


Dr. Karin Jongsma


Dr. Valentijn Karemaker


Dr. Silvia Mihaila

Social Sciences

Dr. Anouk Keizer

Veterinary Medicine

Dr. David Speksnijder