Shortlisted candidates Teacher Awards 2021 announced

Rector Magnificus Henk Kummeling met docent van het jaar Gerda Andringa (links) en docenttalent Lorena de Vita (rechts)
The winners of 2020: Gerda Andringa (L, Teacher of the Year) and Lorena De Vita (Teacher Talent)

Utrecht University has awarded the so-called Teacher Awards since 1994, to encourage academic teachers to continuously improve their teaching and to show them appreciation. The Teacher Awards consist of the Teacher Talent Award, for academic teaching who have recently started, and the Outstanding Teacher Award, for those teachers with upwards of five years’ teaching experience. Every year, study associations in Utrecht can nominate a teacher for these prizes and this year, no fewer than 35 have been nominated.

The jury, comprising of Utrecht lecturers and students, has shortlisted three nominees for the Outstanding Teacher Award and three nominees for the Teaching Talent Award from the submitted teachers. Criteria include the educational vision of the lecturer, the creation of student interaction and the students’ learning experience.

The shortlist

Teacher Talent Award:

  • Rogier Bos (Chemistry, nominated by study society PROTON)
  • Laura Karreman (Media & Culture, nominated by study society AKT)
  • Luciel van Vuuren (Veterinary Medicine, nominated by Diergeneeskundige Studenten Kring)

Outstanding Teacher Award:

  • Ferdi Engels (Pharmacy, nominated by study society U.P.S.V.)
  • Lotte Henrichs (ALPO and Educational Sciences, nominated by study society VOCUS)
  • Veronique Schutjens (Social Geography & Planning, nominated by study society V.U.G.S.)

The winners (one in each category) will be chosen from this nominee shortlist. To decide, the jury will speak with the study associations that nominated the teachers. The announcement of the winners will take place during Utrecht University’s annual education day: the Onderwijsparade on Thursday March 4th. The official prize ceremony will take place during the University’s Dies Natalis on Friday March 26th. Are you curious to know who will win the much-coveted prizes this year? Visit the Onderwijsparade or keep an eye on intranet on the day.


The jury consist of Ronald Bleys (chair), Gerda Andringa, Lorena De Vita, Patricia Post-Nievelstein, Gery NijenhuisBernadette van de Rijt, Arjen VredenbergFrans Pennings, Arjan Stegeman, Niels Bovenschen, and student members Christa Wesselink (History) and Fleur Vermeer (University College Roosevelt). The jury is supported by the Centre for Academic Teaching.