Prof. Dr Jack Middelburg elected as Geochemistry Fellow

The Geochemical Society and the European Association of Geochemistry have announced Prof. Dr Jack Middelburg as one of the 13 scientists who will become Geochemistry Fellows this year. The Fellows will be recognised at the 2019 Goldschmidt Conference in Barcelona this August.

Jack Middelburg

Geochemistry Chair

Jack Middelburg is Professor of General Geochemistry in the Department of Earth Sciences at Utrecht University. He is also the current Director of Research for Earth Sciences. In the past, he served as Director of the Darwin Center for Biogeosciences and he will take up a similar position soon for phase 2 of the Netherlands Earth System Science Centre NESSC. He is also strongly involved in national and international collaborations, in particular those between UU, NIOZ, MARUM and AWI Bremerhaven.

Jack is internationally recognised and awarded as a leading researcher in the aquatic sciences. Among other distinctions, he received the ASLO Hutchinson Award and the Vladimir Ivanovich Vernadsky Medal by the EGU in honour of his outstanding scientific contributions. He is a member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences KNAW.

Scientific eminence

The title of Geochemistry Fellow is bestowed annually upon scientists who have made outstanding contributions to the field of geochemistry. The Geochemical Society and The European Association of Geochemistry believe that “it is important to recognize the broad spectrum of scientific achievements that advance geochemistry. Excellence should not be limited to major discoveries and ideas that change paradigms, and not solely evaluated on the basis of the number of papers published in high-impact journals; the nominee’s h-index and previously obtained distinctions; nor the amount of funding acquired. Instead, we recognize that scientific eminence, achievement and impact also includes contributions that create a dynamic environment essential for scientific progress.”

Earlier laureates

Among the earlier laureates to receive the honorary title of Geochemistry Fellow are department members Prof. Dr Ir Jaap Sinninghe Damsté, Prof. Dr Ir Stefan Schouten, and emeriti Prof. Dr Gert de Lange and Prof. Dr Jan de Leeuw.