Pharmaceutical Sciences Awards 2019

Department Day, June 28 2019

Award for Excellence for prof. Hans-Georg Eichler

In a crowded lecture room prof. Hans-Georg Eichler was awarded the Utrecht Award for Excellence in Pharmaceutical Research 2019. After the laudatio by prof. Bert Leufkens, prof. Eichler was able to explain very clearly his vision of Drug Regulatory Sciences in the near future, when therapies become more and more personal. More informaion about the awardee was posted before.

Furthermore, the annual awards and qualifications were handed out to department employees. Teaching qualifications were given to new staff members, but also to some more senior staff members. Ellen Koster received her SKOw (teaching) and Helga Gardarsdottir her SKOz (research).

Henk de Jong was presented the best teacher award by the UPSV studet society for his enthousiastic teaching of pharmaceutics. There were also awards for the best courses.

Then the audience, among who dean Isabel Arends, witnessed a very strong PhD pitch competition. Blessing Ilochonwu, Charlotte van Gelder, Amer Jamalpoor, Joris Komen (winner) and Apoorva Srivastava had only 7 minutes to explain their research.

The award for best PhD publication of 2018 went to Bol Lou from Pharmaceutics for this article.

All these awards were celebrated with a great buffet, catered by Sodexo. A slideshow of the festivities can be found on our news site.


Photo by Karin Hens