Prof. dr. P.E. (Petra) de Jongh

Prof. dr. P.E. (Petra) de Jongh

Materials Chemistry and Catalysis
030 253 1747

Boards and Committees (selection of recent activities, bold is current):

 Related to Utrecht University

  • Member of the Board of the department of Chemistry (2021-)
  • Academic Member group Sustainable Industry Lab (2020-)
  • Member of the Board of the Debye Institute for Nanomaterials Science (2018-)
  • Chairman of the UU ERC grant proposal support committee for the faculties of Natural Science and Geosciences (2016-2017, 2022)
  • Electron Microscopy Steering Board (2020-)
  • Raad van Advies PAC symposium (Proton, 2017)
  • Program Board Utrecht University Pathways to Sustainability (2017-2018)
  • Mentor for colleagues at Utrecht University (2015-2016)
  • Member of the committee to select the best teacher and the best teacher talent of Utrecht University (Beste Docent) (2015-2020)
  • Director of the MSc program “Nanomaterials-Chemistry and Physics” at Utrecht University (UU) (2011-2014)



  • Lid van de Instituutsadviesraad (IAR) AMOLF (2021-)
  • Elected Member Royal Dutch Academy of Science (KNAW, Koninklijke Nederlandse Academie der Wetenschappen) (2018-)
  • Elected Member of the Royal Netherlands Society of Sciences (KHMW, Koninklijke Hollandsche Maatschappij der Wetenschappen) (2018-)
  • Adviesraad ECCM (Electrochemical Conversie en Materialen) een adviesraad van de samenwerkende topsectoren Chemie, Energie en Materialen (2017-)
  • (Vice) Chair Netherlands Catalysis Conference (2021-)
  • Board of the Netherlands Institute of Catalysis Research (NIOK) (2016-)
  • Member Dutch Chemical Society
  • Member Dutch Catalysis Society
  • World Petroleum Council - NL (2021-2022)
  • Voorzitter Jury NWO Athena Prijs (2017)
  • Materials for Sustainability Programm committee (2017)
  • Scientific Advisory Board TNO- Catalysis (2017-2021)
  • Board of the NWO studygroup Chemistry and Structure of Materials (2015-)
  • Lid van de programmaraad van de Topsector Chemie – Fonds Nieuwe Chemische Innovaties (TKI-NCI) (2014-2017)
  • Member of NWO-VICI jury committee – Natural and Geosciences (2017-)
  • Member of NWO-VIDI jury committee – division Chemical Sciences (2012-2015)



  • Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry - FRSC (UK), 2021-)
  • Editorial Board Journal of Physical Chemistry ABC (2021-)
  • Vice Chair Scientific  Advisory Council of the Helmholtz Institute - Berlin, Germany (2020-)
  • Review panel NCCR Catalysis (Swiss National Science Foundation, 2021-)
  • International Strategic Advisory Committee Institut de Science des Matériaux (iMAT) - Sorbonne Université Paris (2021-)
  • Editorial Board Reaction Chemistry and Engineering (2019-)
  • International Energy Agency (IEA) - Task 40 -  Energy storage and conversion based on hydrogen (2019-)
  • Member of the editorial Board of ChemCatChem (2017-)
  • International Advisory Board EOS (Belgium) (2022-)
  • Scientific  Advisory Council of the Helmholtz Institute - Berlin, Germany (2016-2020)
  • Member of the EERA JP-FHC2 (2017-)
  • Member of the International Energy Agency Task 32 – “Hydrogen Based Energy Storage” (2013-209)
  • Member of the Management Committee of European COST Action “Nanostructured Materials for Solid State Hydrogen Storage” (2011-2017)
  • Member of the American Chemical Society
  • Member of the Materials Research Society


Involvement in the organisation of conferences (selection recent activities):

  • Scientific co-Chair IUPAC2023/CHAINS (to be held in the Hague, August 2023)
  • International Scientific Committe CARBOCAT conferences (2018-)
  • Organiser ECCM Graduate School Electrochemistry (2019-2022)
  • International Steering Team of the International Symposium on Metal Hydrogen Systems (2017-)
  • Organising committee CatPrep European Summer School on Catalyst Preparation, June 2019, Vogüé (France)
  • Organisational Committee IACIS2018 (2017-2018)
  • Scientific Advisory Board CIMTEC conference (2015-)
  • Abstract reviewer for the North American Catalysis Meeting (2017)
  • Co-organiser CatPrep European Summer School on Catalyst Preparation, May 2017, Vogüé (France)


Membership of professional societies:

  • Netherlands: Dutch Chemical Society, Dutch Catalysis Society
  • USA: American Chemical Society, Materials Research Society

Commissions of trust:
Regular reviewer for several journals, among which high impact journals such as:

  • Science
  • Nature journals
  • Advanced Materials
  • Energy and Environmental Science
  • ACS Nano
  • Nanoscale
  • Angewandte Chemie
  • Journal of the American Chemical Society
  • etc...

Regular reviewer and committee member for  research proposals:

  • Nationally: NWO Vidi, NWO Vici, STW, ACTS, etc
  • European: ERC Consolidator grants, Marie Curie Grants, FET proposals, also consensus rapporteur
  • National European grants : Belgian (FWO), Swiss, British, Czech, Norwegian.
  • US: NSF, DOE, Evaluations Nat. Lab., University Researchers.
  • Other: South America, Israel, KACST (Saudi Arabia)