Prof. dr. ir. Majid Hassanizadeh

Vening Meineszgebouw A
Princetonlaan 8a
Kamer 0
3584 CB Utrecht

Prof. dr. ir. Majid Hassanizadeh


Honors, Awards, and Personal Grants: 

  • Elected Fellow of the International Association of Advanced Materials, elected June 2023.
  • Elected as a member of Academia Europaea (Academy of Europe), 2021
  • Robert E. Horton Medal for Lifetime Achievements in Hydrology, AGU, 2019
  • Simons Foundation Fellowship, For a two-month stay at Issac Newton Institute, Cambridge University, Awarded February 2016.
  • Royal Medal of Honor of The Netherlands, Ridder in de Orde van de Nederlandse Leeuw (Knight in the Order of the Netherlands Lion), July 2015
  • Advanced Investigator Research Grant of ca 2.4 Million Euro, awarded by European Research Council, July 2013.
  • Henry Dacry Distinguished Lecturer 2012, Selected by US National Ground Water Association. Lecture titles: Capillarity in porous media on micro- and macro-scale, revisited; and Transport of viruses in partially-saturated soil and groundwater. 80 Invited lectures given at 55 places
  • around the world (
  • Don and Betty Kirkham Award, awarded by Soil Science Society of America, 2011.
  • Alexander von Humboldt Research Prize, March 2010.
  • Commemorative Medal Award as Distinguished Lecturer at the 25th Anniversary of Establishment of The Institute of Chemical Engineering Sciences (ICE-HT) of FORTH Foundation, Greece, 2009.
  • Honorary degree of Doctor-Ingenieur from Stuttgart University, November 2008.
  • Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Scienceelected November 2007.
  • Fellow of the American Geophysical Union (AGU), elected January 2002.
  • Visiting Scientist Fellowship, awarded by EPFL (Ecole Polytechnique Federal Lausanne) Switzerland (September – October 2007)
  • Visiting Scientist Fellowship, awarded by ENSAM (Ecole Nationale Supérieure d'Arts et Métiers) through TREFLE Laboratory, Bordeaux, France (February – April 2007)
  • Elected by participants of Gordon Research Conference (GRC) on Flow and Transport in Permeable Media in 2000 to become the chair of GRC 2004
  • Antonie van Leeuwenhoek Professor of Hydrogeology (professorship based on merit), Delft University of Technology Delft, The Netherlands, 2001-2003
  • Joint UK-Dutch Research Grant awarded by the NWO and the British Council to I. Murdoch (U. of Strathclyde, Scotland) and S.M. Hassanizadeh,1999
  • Appointed as Visiting Professor at Jilin University (formerly Changchun University of Science and Technology); 3 July 1998
  • Collaborative Research Grant awarded by the NATO Scientific and Environmental Affairs Division to S.M. Hassanizadeh, M.A. Celia (Princeton University), C.D. Montemagno (Cornell University),1995-1997
  • Visiting Scientist Fellowship, awarded by Department of Civil Engineering, University of Notre Dame, Indiana, US, January – August 1994
  • Collaborative Research Grant awarded by the NATO Scientific Affairs Division to W.G. Gray (U. of Notre Dame), S.M. Hassanizadeh, A.F.B. Tompson (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratories),1988-1992
  • George Van-Ness Lothrop Fellowship to outstanding senior graduate students in the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences of Princeton University, 1977-1978
  • Pahlavi University Fellowship to high ranking students in Pahlavi University, Shiraz, Iran, 1970-1975
  • Ministry of Science and Higher Education Honorary Prize to the first ranking students of all engineering schools in Iran, 1975 


Environmental Hydrogeology