Study programme

Study scheme, Musicology


The year is divided into two semesters, running from September until January and from February until June. A semester is divided into two study periods. Students will take three courses (of 5 EC each) per study period. 

Compulsory courses

During your first year, you take a series of interdisciplinary (15 EC) and disciplinary compulsory courses (30 EC). There are also two modules on research methods and techniques in study period 2 (2.5 EC per module).

Part of the required interdisciplinary courses (up to 10 EC) will be taken at the national research schools relevant to the programme (Huizinga Institute for Cultural History, Research School for Media Studies, National Research School in Medieval Studies, Netherlands Institute for Cultural Analysis, Netherlands Research School of Gender Studies) and will be selected by you together with your mentor.


In study periods 3 and 4 of your first year, you and your mentor will also choose two electives (10 EC) consisting of research seminars and/or tutorials targeting your specific research interest.

Internship/study abroad and thesis

In the first semester of the second year, you can study abroad, do an internship, or complete additional course work (30 EC, including course offerings provided by the national research schools). In the second semester of that year, you will write your Master's thesis (30 EC).

Have a look at the course descriptions.

Educational methods

  • seminars
  • self-study
  • internship (optional)


  • papers
  • assignments
  • presentations

Each course requires a final paper or project. Weekly reading and/or writing assignments are compulsory. Courses usually include at least one presentation.