Faculty of Science

“Our knowledge changes the world.”
Gerrit van Meer – Dean

Utrecht University's Faculty of Science stands for world-class research and innovative education. The faculty is the largest science faculty of the Netherlands and is home to over 4800 students and 1100 employees. The Faculty offers research expertise and opportunities across all departments, from Mathematics, Biology, Chemistry, Physics and Astronomy, Information and Computing Sciences to Pharmaceutical Sciences.

The Faculty of Science is world wide recognized for its excellent research. Among the bright minds of our faculty are a Nobel prize winner, Spinoza winners, ERC grant winners and of course we do all our research in close collaboration with social partners and the industry.

We believe it is a great privilege to pass our knowledge on to the next generations. The faculty offers a wide variety of educational programmes in both the Natural Sciences as the Life Sciences and we challenge our students to get the most out of their talents.

200 years of Science!
Celebrating the 200th anniversary of Science

The Faculty of Mathematical and Physical Sciences was founded in 1815. We celebrate the 200th anniversary of Science at the festive opening of the Academic Year on 1 September 2015.

Science for Life
Science for Life

Science for Life explores the fundamentals of life through high-level research in the biosciences, aiming at future solutions for health and environmental challenges.


9 September 2015
On 9 September, Marcel Kooij will defend his dissertation on the influence of telephone contact on therapy adherence in different medication
Thomas Peitzmann
21 August 2015
The mass of an atomic nucleus is equal to the mass of it’s anti-particle, the anti-nucleus.
Faculty of Science
18 August 2015
Utrecht University placed 45th in ranking Natural Sciences and Mathematics


1 September 2015 14:30 -
The Faculty of Mathematical and Physical Sciences was founded in 1815
13 September 2015 10:00 -
Science and society meet
14 September 2015 13:00 -
Annual symposium of the UBC
Onderwijs Bètawetenschappen

Faculty of Science