Prof. dr. M. (Marjolein) Dijkstra

Leonard S. Ornsteinlaboratorium
Princetonplein 1
Kamer 064
3584 CC Utrecht

Prof. dr. M. (Marjolein) Dijkstra

Soft Condensed Matter
+31 30 253 3270

Academic Appointments

2022-present Member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW)
2007-present Professor Computational Condensed Matter, Department of Physics, Utrecht University
2006-2007 Associate professor, Department of Physics, Utrecht University
1999-2006 Assistant professor, Department of Physics, Utrecht University
1997-1998 EU-Marie Curie (TMR) Individual Fellowship/EPSRC Prof. Robert Evans, H.H. Wills Physics Laboratory,
Bristol University, UK
1997 Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Centre Européen de Calcul Atomique et Moléculaire, Lyon, France
1996 Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Prof. Michael P. Allen, H.H. Wills Physics Laboratory, Bristol University, UK
1995 Associate Research Physicist, Shell Research and Technology Centre Amsterdam
1994-1995 EU-Marie Curie (HCM) Individual Fellowship, Prof. Paul A. Madden and Prof. Jean Pierre Hansen, Physical and Theoretical Chemistry Laboratory, Oxford University, UK

Professional Experience

2018-present Member Sectorplan Commissie Bèta en Techniek
2021-present Board member Debye Institute for Nanomaterials Science
2021-present Board Stichting Physica
2018-present APS Editor Reviews of Modern Physics

Prizes, Awards, and Recognitions

2020 Elected member Dutch Royal Academy of Sciences (KNAW)
2020 ERC Advanced grant (250 kEuro)
2007 NWO-Aspasia premie  (100 kEuro)
2006 NWO-VICI grant  (1250 kEuro)
2004 UU High Potential Grant (1472 kEuro)
2000 FOM Minerva Prize


1994 PhD degree, Thesis advisor: Prof. dr. Daan Frenkel, FOM institute AMOLF
1991 MSc Physics, Utrecht University
1990 MSc Molecular Sciences, Wageningen University