Dr. D.L. (Daniel) Hurdiss

Assistant Professor



Assistant Professor and NWO Veni laureate, Utrecht University, Utrecht, NL. 


Marie Sklodowska-Curie Individual Fellow and EMBO non-stipendiary Long-Term Fellow, Utrecht University, Utrecht, NL. 



PhD in Structural Biology, University of Leeds, Leeds, UK.


BSc (Hons) Microbiology (Industrial), University of Leeds, Leeds, UK, Awarded First Class.

Personal Grants

2021 - NWO Veni Grant, Grant number (VI.Veni.212.102). Title of project: “Unraveling the functions of the enterovirus 2C protein using integrative structural biology”. 

2021 - Dutch National e-Infrastructure Grant, Grant number (EINF-2453). Title of project: “Corona Accelerated R&D in Europe”. 

2019 - Marie Sklodowska-Curie Individual Fellowship, Grant number: (842333). Title of project: Structural and functional studies of enterovirus 2C proteins: promising targets for antiviral therapy. 

2019 - EMBO Long-Term Fellowship, Grant number: (ALTF 1172-2018). Title of project: Structural and functional studies of enterovirus 2C proteins: promising targets for antiviral therapy. (Accepted on a non-stipendiary basis due to Marie Sklodowska-Curie Individual Fellowship). 

2015-2022 - Travel Grants, FEMS Travel Grant (2022), Boehringer Ingelheim Foundation Grant (2018), Lindau Foundation Grant (2018), Microbiology Society Travel Grants (2015 & 2017).

2014 - Wellcome Trust Four-year PhD Studentship, Grant number: (102572/B/13/Z). Title of project: Structural studies of non-enveloped viruses associated with human diseases. 

Selected Honors and Awards

2023 - Beijerinck Premium, Established in 2002, this award recognises talented researchers at the start of their careers who conduct excellent virus-oriented research and thus set an example for other young virologists. The Beijerinck Premium is awarded annually by the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW). The laureate receives a cash prize of €25,000 to spend on virus-oriented research.

2022 - Van Leeuwenhoek Award, The KNVM/NVMM science committee offers the Van Leeuwenhoek Awards to young Postdocs in microbiology (5 years after obtaining your PhD) for the best publication as first, last and/or corresponding author.

2020 - BBS Kendrew Doctoral Thesis Prize, Established in 2019 by the British Biophysical Society and is awarded biennially for an outstanding PhD thesis in biophysics for which the principal work has been carried out in the UK or Ireland.

2019 - VC Jordan/PR Radford Prize, Awarded annually to the best PhD student thesis in the Astbury Centre, University of Leeds, UK.

2018 - Alumnus of the 68th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting, Nominated by the University of Leeds and the Royal Society and then selected by the scientific review panel of the Council for the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting.

2017 - Sir Howard Dalton Young Microbiologist of the Year, Microbiology Society, Nominated for the award after presenting at the annual conference in Edinburgh. Invited to present again against six other finalists and was chosen as the winner by a panel of judges.