Best Article Award of the journal Policy and Society, 2020 2021
Mayer Prize for Best Book in Australian Political Science2019
Elected member of Sociaal-Wetenschappelijke Raad, KNAW2016
ERC Advanced Grant 20152015
Elected member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW)2014
Sam Richardson Prize for the best article published in the Australian Journal of Public Administration in 20102011
Herbert Simon Award of the American Political Science Association2007
Co-recipient of Hugo Raab Award of the Swedish Defence College for the best publication 2005/6 for co-authored monograph The Politics of Crisis Management2006