Prof. Niki Frantzeskaki

Spatial Planning

2022, 2021 and 2020
Highly Cited Researcher by Clarivate Analytics 2020, 2021 and 2022 in cross-field.

Highly Cited Researcher status is awarded to the top 1% of researchers globally, and for Prof. N. Frantzeskaki is awarded it in the cross-field of social sciences and ecology. The highly cited papers relate to the research on urban governance, experimentation, and governance of nature-based solutions. 
2021, 2022 and 2023
Included in Elsevier’s top 2% of the most influential researchers in the world in all scientific disciplines for 2021 , 2022 and 2023– with recognized high impact in three fields: Ecology, Earth, and Environmental Sciences. 

Link for 2021: DOI: 10.17632/btchxktzyw.3

For 2022, the link is: DOI:10.17632/btchxktzyw.4

For 2023, the link is: DOI: 10.17632/btchxktzyw.6

2023 - Sustainability Science Award

Ecological Society of America Sustainability Science Award for the paper Elmqvist, T., Andersson, E., Frantzeskaki, N., McPhearson, T., Folke, C., Olsson, P., Gaffney, O., and Takeuchi, K., (2019), Sustainability, resilience and transformation in the urban century, Nature Sustainability, Nature Sustainability, 2, 267–273,

2021 - Best Paper Award 
Planning Ecologically Just Cities with Nature-Based Solutions – Melissa Pineda Pinto and Niki Frantzeskaki 

PhD category Best Paper Award in the Peter Harrison Memorial Award which is administered by The Fenner School of Environment and Society and Australian National University Endowment for Excellence at the biannual State of Australasian Cities Conference 2021. 
Best Paper 

2021 - Best Paper Award 
Transformative Urban Innovations – Fatemeh Shahani, Melissa Pineda Pinto and Niki Frantzeskaki 

Early Career Researcher best paper award in the theme track ‘Governance’ at the biannual State of Australasian Cities Conference 2021. The published paper in AMBIO can be found here:

2019 - Editor's Choice 
Frantzeskaki, N., McPhearson, T., Collier, M., Kendal, D., Bulkeley, H., Dumitru, A., Walsh, C., Noble, K., van Wyk, E., Pinter, L., Ordonez, C., Oke, C., Elmqvist, T., (2019), Nature-based solutions for urban climate change adaptation: linking the science, policy and practice communities for evidence-based decision-making, Bioscience, 69, 455-566, doi:10.1093/biosci/biz042 

2018 and 2014 - Research Excellence Award 
Biodiversa URBES research project: The URBES project in which I was a Research Cluster Leader (three Research Clusters in total) coordinating five research institutes and four country governance scenarios, was awarded two excellence awards from the Biodiversity Research Joint Program Initiative of the European Union. One was for their immense contribution to the science of urban biodiversity and ecosystem services (2014), and one was for the excellence in ‘science with policy impact’ (2018). 

2016 - Research Excellence Award 
FP7 ARTS research project: For the ARTS research project in which I was the coordinator of 13 partnering universities. The ARTS research team received a ‘research excellence’ award by the European Commission Directorate General Research and Innovation in 2016.

*note: For receiving the research excellence award, our research project underwent two additional external research evaluation committee processes organized by the Directorate of Research and Innovation with the consultation of the Directorate of Environment. 

2016 - Education Research Impact Award 
FP7 SUSTAIN research project (on education research): I was one of five Work Program Leaders in the SUSTAIN project, which focused on integrating Sustainability Transitions and Transition Management courses in higher education in Europe, India, China, and Indonesia. Together with the SUSTAIN team were awarded the ‘impact award’ recognition for the top 3 education research projects in Europe in 2016.

2014 - Film Award 
Film Award in a Film Competition with the World Bank Climate4Change (output of the Biodiversa URBES research project). A film entitled “The transition to urban resilience: Rotterdam” won a competition with the World Bank Climate4Change initiative in July 2014 among 230 competing films on climate change and climate adaptation. Since October 2014 it was also put up and selected in receiving great attention on social media.

2013 - Best Paper Award 
International Conference for Sustainability Transitions: Bosman, R., Loorbach, D., Frantzeskaki, N., and Pistorius, T., (2013), Regime dynamics in the Dutch energy transition, 4th International Conference for Sustainability Transitions, 19-21 June 2013, Zurich, Switzerland.

2009 - Best Paper Award 
European Union’s Special Committee for Sustainable Development: D. Loorbach, N. Frantzeskaki and W.H.Thissen, (2009), A transition research perspective on governance for sustainability, Sustainable Development: A challenge for European Research, EU DG Research, 28-29 May 2009, Brussels, Belgium.

2008 - Innovation in Education Award 
Simon Peerdeman Award 2008 for the outstanding contribution to one of the TPM's education programs, products, or activities: Using SmartBoards in education, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands.