Anorganische Chemie en Katalyse
Benoemingsdatum 01-09-1997

Professor Inorganic Chemistry and Catalysis


Strategische thema's / focusgebieden
Gegenereerd op 2018-07-18 16:44:02
Curriculum vitae

Krijn P. de Jong (1954) obtained his MSc in chemistry (1978) and PhD degree in catalysis (1982), both degrees cum laude and at Utrecht University. In 1987 he obtained an MSc in chemical engineering from Twente University. From 1982-1997 he was with Shell Research working on catalyst synthesis, heavy oil conversion, environmental processes, zeolite catalysis and synthesis gas production and conversion. In 1997 he was appointed as full professor of inorganic chemistry and catalysis at Utrecht University. His current research interests are catalyst synthesis and assembly, hydrocarbon conversions over zeolites, solid catalysts for fine chemicals manufacture, conversion of synthesis gas and hydrogen storage. He obtained the Unilever Chemistry Award in 1977, the Shell Patent Award in 1987 and 1991.

Furthermore, he was the recipient of the international Award for Excellence in Natural Gas Conversion in 2013. From 2012-2015 he was Scientific Director of the Debye Institute for Nanomaterials Science of Utrecht University. Currently, he is a member of the Technology Advisory Council (TAC) of BP, Vice-Head of the Department of Chemistry and member of the board of the Debye Institute. He ha been awarded with the 2017 EFCATS François Gault Lectureship at Europacat XIII in Florence. In November 2017 he received the Eminent Visitor Award of South Africa at the CATSA Conference.



Gegenereerd op 2018-07-18 16:44:02

De complete publicatielijst is te vinden op de persoonlijke pagina van Krijn de Jong.

^ naar boven
Gegenereerd op 2018-07-18 16:44:02

Research interests involve synthesis and assembly of catalysts and functional materials with particular interest in zeolites, mesoporous materials, carbon nanofibers, supported metals and metal oxides, and solid base materials such as hydrotalcites. The work on zeolites comprises generation of mesopores, characterization using electron tomography (3D-TEM) and catalysis. Carbon nanofibers and are investigated for their potential as catalysts support materials. Mesoporous materials (e.g. MCM-41, SBA-15) are used as support materials for fundamental studies on catalyst preparation. Structural investigations on hydrotalcites have enabled us to produce solid base catalysts highly active at ambient conditions in liquid-phase.

The approach in our research is to combine the outcome of several techniques into a unifying picture of the complex nanomaterials that are synthesized. The in-house techniques are a.o. XPS, in situ XRD, IR, physisorption, TPR-TPD-TPO, TGA, SEM and TEM. Special competencies in our department are XAFS (with Dr. Harry Bitter), STEM-EELS (with Prof. Frank de Groot), 3D-TEM (with Dr. Willie Geerts) and advanced microbalance techniques (TEOM).

Catalytic studies involve (hydro-)isomerisation of hydrocarbons, selective hydrogenations, aldol-condensation, synthesis gas conversion (paraffins, olefins and alcohols) and biomass conversions. Nanostructured materials are also studied for hydrogen storage and CO2 capture.

More information about research projects can be found at the personal page of Krijn de Jong.

Gegenereerd op 2018-07-18 16:44:02

Advisory/professional activities - general

  • Consultant to Royal Dutch Shell (1999 - present).
  • Board member of NIOK (1998 onwards).
  • Member Management Team NRSCC (Toponderzoeksschool Katalyse). 
  • Member of the NWO Assessment Committee for VICI proposals 2012, 2013, 2014.
  • Member of the Technology Advisory Council of BP (2012 - present)
  • Consultant to Avantium (2012-present)

International activities & conferences - selection

  • Member International Board “Carbon in Catalysis Conferences” (2004 onwards).
  • Member Netherlands Committee World Petroleum Congress (2008 onwards).
  • Member of DOE-sponsored EFRC ‘Center for Atomic-Level Catalyst Design’.
  • International advisory board of ZMPC2015 (Zeolites and Microporous Materials)
  • Chair “Natural Gas Conversion Board” (2013 onwards)

Editorial positions

  • Editorial Board of Catalysis Letters (1998 onwards).
  • Editorial Board of Topics in Catalysis (1999 onwards).
  • Editorial Board Journal of Catalysis (2010 onwards)
  • Editorial Board ChemPlusChem (2011 onwards)
  • International Advisory Board of Journal of Energy Chemistry (2012 onwards)


Gegenereerd op 2018-07-18 16:44:02
Volledige naam
prof. dr. ir. K.P. de Jong Contactgegevens
David de Wiedgebouw

Universiteitsweg 99
Kamer 4.80

Telefoonnummer direct 030 253 6762
Telefoonnummer afdeling 030 253 7400
Gegenereerd op 2018-07-18 16:44:02
Laatst bijgewerkt op 13-03-2018