Living in the Utrecht Province

The Province of Utrecht is roughly the same size as England’s capital city London. The Municipality of Utrecht is just one of the twenty-six municipalities in the Province of Utrecht.

Because student accommodation in the Municipality of Utrecht is hard to get, students frequently find accommodation in surrounding municipalities such as De Bilt, Bilthoven, Ijsselstein, Zeist, Bunnik, Maarssen, Nieuwegein and Amersfoort (see map below).

Getting about

The Dutch government cares for safe cycling tracks separated from the road. The Utrecht region also has an excellent public transport network. Because of this the city and Utrecht University are easily commutable from the neighbouring municipalities by either bike, train, tram or bus.