Prijzen en onderscheidingen
Professor Bert Weckhuysen, winner NWO Spinoza Prize 2013

Many of Utrecht University's researchers rank among the best in their field internationally. They have been awarded an honorary distinction, research grant or prize for their academic achievements.


The Nobel Prize is the world's most prestigious prize in the field of science. Recipients of this prize include several scientists associated with Utrecht University.


The European Union has set aside a substantial budget in the form of European Research Council grants to support individual outstanding researchers pursuing ground-breaking research. Many researchers at Utrecht University were awarded an ERC grant.


The Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO) is one of the main funders of Dutch science and promotes the quality of scientific research through such means as the Spinoza Prize, the Innovation Research Incentive Schemes (Veni, Vidi, Vici) and the Gravitation programme. Utrecht University has proven very successful in attracting personal research grants.

Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW)

The Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) confers scientific and scholarly awards and administers funding schemes. One such award is the Academy Professor Prize, which was allocated to Utrecht University professor René Bernards in 2013.


Dr. Onno Kosters
7 February 2013
Onno Kosters is the winner of the fourth Turing Nationale Gedichtenwedstrijd, the biggest poetry contest in the Netherlands.
Studieprijs Stichting Praemium Erasmianum voor Irene van Renswoude
15 October 2012
Dr Irene van Renswoude was awarded with a Praemium Erasmianum Research Prize.
Prof. dr. Birgit Meyer ontvangt Anneliese Maier Forschungspreis.
21 September 2012
Prof. Birgit Meyer received the Anneliese Maier Forschungspreis, awarded by the prestigious Alexander von Humboldt Foundation.
Annelies Kleinherenbrink en Evina Steinová, winnaars Facultaire Scriptieprijs 2012 (Geesteswetenschappen)
4 September 2012
Annelies Kleinherenbrink en Evina Steinová have won the Humanities thesis Awards 2012.
22 June 2012
The documentary ‘Acting Together on the World Stage’ has been awarded a prestigious Telly Award.