Prizes and distinctions

Professor Bert Weckhuysen, winnaar NWO Spinozapremie 2013
Professor Bert Weckhuysen, winner NWO Spinoza Prize 2013

Many of Utrecht University's researchers rank among the best in their field internationally. They have been awarded an honorary distinction, research grant or prize for their academic achievements.


The Nobel Prize is the world's most prestigious prize in the field of science. Recipients of this prize include several scientists associated with Utrecht University.


The European Union has set aside a substantial budget in the form of European Research Council grants to support individual outstanding researchers pursuing ground-breaking research. Many researchers at Utrecht University were awarded an ERC grant.


The Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO) is one of the main funders of Dutch science and promotes the quality of scientific research through such means as the Spinoza Prize, the Innovation Research Incentive Schemes (Veni, Vidi, Vici) and the Gravitation programme. Utrecht University has proven very successful in attracting personal research grants.

Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW)

The Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) confers scientific and scholarly awards and administers funding schemes. One such award is the Academy Professor Prize, which was allocated to Utrecht University professor René Bernards in 2013.


15 December 2015
Dr. Lorena Sosa, was awarded the Max van de Stoel Human Rights Award for her PhD thesis on intersectionality related to violence against women.
15 December 2015
Sjon Hartman, doctoral candidate in Ecophysiology of Plants, won the Science Battle with his presentation on research into how plants adjust to flooding
Uitreiking Scriptieprijs Nina Rosa
1 December 2015
“If it were up to me, I would keep studying for the rest of my life”
Winnaar Didi van Trijp, geflankeerd door de aanwezige genomineerden Tamar van der Kuil en Nicole Linkels - foto: Hilz
30 November 2015
Van Trijp studied notions on the structure of the universe among two Amsterdam chambers of rhetoric in the early 17th century.
Dr. Nathaniel Martin, Timo Koopmans & Laurens Kleijn
26 November 2015
The startup is the direct result of the fundamental research of Martin and his group towards new anitbiotics.