Prizes and distinctions

Professor Bert Weckhuysen, winnaar NWO Spinozapremie 2013
Professor Bert Weckhuysen, winner NWO Spinoza Prize 2013

Many of Utrecht University's researchers rank among the best in their field internationally. They have been awarded an honorary distinction, research grant or prize for their academic achievements.


The Nobel Prize is the world's most prestigious prize in the field of science. Recipients of this prize include several scientists associated with Utrecht University.


The European Union has set aside a substantial budget in the form of European Research Council grants to support individual outstanding researchers pursuing ground-breaking research. Many researchers at Utrecht University were awarded an ERC grant.


The Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO) is one of the main funders of Dutch science and promotes the quality of scientific research through such means as the Spinoza Prize, the Innovation Research Incentive Schemes (Veni, Vidi, Vici) and the Gravitation programme. Utrecht University has proven very successful in attracting personal research grants.

Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW)

The Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) confers scientific and scholarly awards and administers funding schemes. One such award is the Academy Professor Prize, which was allocated to Utrecht University professor René Bernards in 2013.


Dong Nguyen
5 November 2019
In her Veni project, Nguyen investigates how computers can learn the social aspects of language use with neural networks.
Dong Nguyen and Niko Wanders
5 November 2019
Hydrologist Niko Wanders and information scientist Dong Nguyen have been awarded the Early Career Award of the KNAW
29 October 2019
The Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung in Mülheim (Germany) has awarded to Prof. Bert Weckhuysen their annual Karl-Ziegler-Guest Professorship.
The winners of the 2019 OSL Awards are Marieke Winkler and Tom Idema. Source:
21 October 2019
Each year The Netherlands Research School for Literary Studies (OSL) rewards two members with an award for the publication of an excellent book and article.
logo van European Research Council
11 October 2019
Caroline Slomp (UU) and Mike Jetten (Radboud University) receive €7.6 million to investigate how microbes remove methane and ammonium from coastal sediments.