The PhD Committee of the Debye Institute (Debye Aio Commissie, DAC) represents and attends the interests of the PhD students and Post Docs working within the institute. Its main goal is two-fold:

  1. To provide information about issues that concern PhD students within the institute
  2. To be a source of cohesion for the PhD students who work in the different sections of the institute.

In order to achieve these goals, the DAC was established by the general board of the Debye institute in 1994. In principle, every group within the institute is represented by one member. Representatives of the PhD committee regularly meet with the general board of the institute and, if appropriate, with the general boards of the departments of Chemistry and Physics & Astronomy:

Condensed Matter and Interfaces

Freddy Rabouw (secretary)

Physical and Colloid Chemistry

Mark Vis

Inorganic Chemistry and Catalysis

Sam Kalirai (Chair)

Organic Chemistry and Catalysis

Bas Reijers


Lourens van Dijk

Soft Condensed Matter & Biophysics

Nina Elbers

A number of courses for PhD students can be found in the document Courses for Debye PhD Students. Furthermore, the DAC publishes the PhD student and postdoc booklet every year, containing short descriptions of all postgraduate research in the Debye Institute.