Prominent researchers Faculty of Science

Utrecht University's Faculty of Science employs many world-renowned scientists. In addition to Professors who work at the Faculty of Science, Utrecht University has specially appointed University Professors and Faculty Professors.

University Professors

The Executive Board only appoints a limited number of internationally recognised scientists with a discipline-transcending vision and character as University Professors. Among other things, a University Professor is responsible for innovative research and education and plays a distinguishing role in the academic and social debate. Of all appointed University Professors, four have a background in or appointment at the Faculty of Science:

Faculty Professors

The Faculty of Science appoints Faculty Professors on account of significant academic achievements and how those are placed in a social context. This honorary appointment is awarded to:

Prizes and grants

Some of the prestigious prizes and subsidies awarded to current researchers of the faculty include:

Nobel Prize

Spinoza Prize