The Graduate School of Natural Sciences offers 10 full Master's programmes and 8 PhD programmes. It is 1 of 6 Graduate Schools of Utrecht University and embedded into the Faculty of Science. Each research institute offers 1 PhD programme and several Master's programmes.


Prof.dr. G.T. Barkema, vicedean of education of the Faculty of Science.

Executive board

acting chairman: Prof.dr. H.E. de Swart
Dr. ir. J.B.A. Maintz

Board of studies

acting chairman: Prof.dr. H.E. de Swart
Dr. ir. J.B.A. Maintz (secretary)
Staff members:
Prof.dr. J.T. Jeuring
Dr. G. W. Heil
Programme directors:
Prof.dr. J.-J.Ch. Meyer, Technical Artificial Intelligence & Artificial Intelligence.
Prof.dr. S. Brinkkemper, Business Informatics.
Dr. M.J. van Krefeld, Game and Media Technology.
Dr. H.L. Bodlaender, Computing Science.
Prof.dr. L.T.G. Theunissen, History and Philosophy of Science.
Dr. J.W. van de Leur, Mathematical Sciences.
Prof.dr. A.P. Philipse, Nanomaterials Science.
Prof.dr. A. van Blaaderen, nanomaterials: chemistry and physics (physics part)
dr. A.J. van Delden, Climate Science.
Prof.dr. R.J.M. Snellings, Experimental Physics.
Prof.dr. C. de Morais-Smith, Theoretical Physics.
PhD representative:
E.C.I. van der Wurff, MSc
Student representatives:
P. Geels, BSc (on behalf of the Master's students)
E.M. Visser, BSc(on behalf of the Master's students)

The Board of studies is responsible for the day-to-day management of the school and the quality of the Master's and PhD programmes.

Minutes BOS-GSNS meetings (in Dutch)

Master's programme coordinators

The coordinators are the principal points of contact for all Master's students. 
The coordinator advises students on their individual Master's programmes or pre-master's programme, can be a conduit for administrative affairs and quality management, and gives advise on admissions requests.

Board of scientific directors

Debye Institute for Nanomaterials Science: Prof.dr. ir. M. Dijkstra
Institute for Marine and Atmospheric Research: Prof.dr. M.R. van den Broeke
Institute for Theoretical Physics: Prof.dr. S.J.G. Vandoren
Mathematics Institute: Prof.dr. S.M. Verduyn Lunel
Utrecht Institute for ICT Research: Prof.dr. R.C. Veltkamp
Freudenthal Institute for Science and Mathematics Education: Prof.dr. Wouter van Joolingen
Institute for subatomic physics: Prof.dr. T. Peitzmann
Each of the directors is responsible for the PhD programme of the institute listed. Together as a board, they advise the board of studies.

Board of Examiners

Dr. E.R. Savelsbergh (Chair)
Dr. R. S. W. van de Wal (Member, Physics and Climate Science)
Dr. G. Bacciagaluppi (Member, Chair History and Philosophy of Science)
Prof. dr. mr. H. Prakken (Member, Chair Information and Computing Sciences)
Dr. I. Swart (Member, Chair Chemistry and Physics)
Prof. dr. F. Beukers (Member, Chair Mathematics)
Dr. S. Renooij (Member, Chair Artificial Intelligence)
Dr. I.E.T. van den Berg (Non-Faculty Member)
Mr. S. van der Veen (Secretary)

The board of examiners is responsible for the quality of tests and exams within the school. Its members each represent a cluster of Master's programmes (and chair a sub-committee if so indicated).

Education council (opleidingscommissie)

Dr. D. Baneke (chair) (secretary)
Dr. R.J. Geraerts (member, information and computer sciences) 
Dr. B.H. Erne (member, chemistry) 
Dr. D. Baneke (member, history and philosophy of science) 
Dr. G.R. Cavalcanti (member, mathematics) 
Dr. A. Imhof (member, physics) 
Dr. G.A.W. Vreeswijk (member, Artificial Intelligence)
J. Bevers (student member, history and philosophy of science) 
J. van der Horn (student member, chemistry) 
B. Jacobs (student member, mathematics) 
T. van Gogh (student member, physics, astrophysics) 
C. Reijnen (student member, information and computer sciences)
L. de Haas (student member, artificial intelligence)  

The education council independently advises the board of studies on the quality of the Master's programmes of the school.

Degree councils

The degree councils advise the education council on specific Master's programmes. The chairs of the degree councils (or a representative) are members of the education council.

Board of admissions

Dr. ir. J.B.A. Maintz (chair) 
Prof. dr. J. Hogendijk 
Drs. J. Fokker
Prof.dr. P. van der Straten
Dr. E.J. Breukink
A. Chaigneau (secretary)

The board of admissions controls the admission procedures of all programme and exchange students, as well as all non-specific scholarship procedures.