Faculty Board

The Faculty of Humanities is headed by the Faculty Board, consisting of the Dean, two Vice Deans, the Director of the Faculty and the Student Assessor.

Faculty Council

The Faculty Council (in Dutch) is the participation body for the Faculty of Humanities. Both students and staff are represented in the council.

Organisational entities



Strategic themes

Utrecht University has designated four strategic research themes. The Faculty of Humanities is coordinator of the strategic theme Institutions for Open Societies. Humanities scholars also participate in the strategic themes Dynamics of Youth and Sustainability.

Focus areas

In addition to the four strategic themes, Utrecht University invests in twelve research focus areas, contributing to an integrated approach to scientific and social questions. The Faculty of Humanities participates in the following focus areas:

organisation chart Faculty of Humanities