Nieuws https://www.uu.nl/en en Wed, 17 Apr 2024 12:16:35 +0200 Tue, 26 Mar 2024 11:00:00 +0100 Postcolonial Theory and Crisis https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/postcolonial-theory-and-crisis Postcolonial Theory and Crisis, edited by Sandra Ponzanesi and others, aims to find out how to best make sense of postcolonial theory in Europe in the present. 139002 Tue, 26 Mar 2024 11:00:00 +0100 Nieuws Recommendations on the Use of Synthetic Data to Train AI Models https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/recommendations-on-the-use-of-synthetic-data-to-train-ai-models Professor of Inclusive AI Cultures Payal Arora co-wrote a United Nations University report with guidelines for training AI models through artificially generated data. 138388 Thu, 07 Mar 2024 14:04:00 +0100 Nieuws Methods and Genealogies of New Materialisms https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/methods-and-genealogies-of-new-materialisms Methods and Genealogies of New Materialisms, co-edited by Iris van der Tuin, discusses over a decade of work in new materialist theorising and knowledge-making practice. 138120 Mon, 26 Feb 2024 13:58:00 +0100 Nieuws Doing Digital Migration Studies: Theories and Practices of the Everyday https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/doing-digital-migration-studies-theories-and-practices-of-the-everyday Doing Digital Migration Studie, edited by Koen Leurs and Sandra Ponzanesi, offers a comprehensive entry into a variety of debates, interventions, and discussions. 137991 Wed, 21 Feb 2024 15:37:00 +0100 Nieuws Ecogames: Playful Perspectives on the Climate Crisis https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/ecogames-playful-perspectives-on-the-climate-crisis In Ecogames: Playful Perspectives on the Climate Crisis, a diverse group of authors explores different aspects of ecocritical engagement in and through games. 137091 Mon, 22 Jan 2024 14:22:00 +0100 Nieuws The Edinburgh Companion to the New European Humanities https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/the-edinburgh-companion-to-the-new-european-humanities Edited by Rosi Braidotti and Daan Oostveen, among others, this volume examines the rise of the ‘New’ Humanities. 136416 Fri, 15 Dec 2023 13:15:00 +0100 Nieuws Identity, Community, and Sexuality in Slash Fan Fiction https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/identity-community-and-sexuality-in-slash-fan-fiction Anne Kustritz explores slash fan fiction communities during the late 1990s and early 2000s as the practice transitioned from print to digital circulation. 136347 Wed, 13 Dec 2023 16:22:00 +0100 Nieuws The Palgrave Handbook of Music in Comedy Cinema https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/the-palgrave-handbook-of-music-in-comedy-cinema In The Palgrave Handbook of Music in Comedy Cinema, Emile Wennekes and Emilio Audissino tackle the understudied relationship between music en comedy cinema. 136122 Wed, 06 Dec 2023 16:58:00 +0100 Nieuws Transitions in Art, Culture and Politics https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/transitions-in-art-culture-and-politics Transitions in Art, Culture and Politics is edited in honour of the retirement of Emeritus Professor of Art, Culture and Diversity Rosemarie Buikema. 134799 Fri, 20 Oct 2023 17:05:00 +0200 Nieuws Creating Europe from the Margins https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/creating-europe-from-the-margins Creating Europe from the Margins, edited by Sandra Ponzanesi and others, explores the idea of Europe through a focus on its margins. 133556 Thu, 07 Sep 2023 16:53:00 +0200 Nieuws Special section the minnesota review: Mobilizing Creativity https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/special-section-the-minnesota-review-mobilizing-creativity Kiene Brillenburg Wurth, Iris van der Tuin, and Nanna Verhoeff have edited a special section in the minnesota review on Mobilizing Creativity: A Humanities Perspective (part 1 of 2). 131426 Mon, 12 Jun 2023 16:25:00 +0200 Nieuws Situating Data: Inquiries in Algorithmic Culture https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/situating-data-inquiries-in-algorithmic-culture Edited by Karin van Es and Nanna Verhoeff, Situating Data: Inquiries in Algorithmic Culture was recently published. 130366 Mon, 08 May 2023 11:56:00 +0200 Nieuws Rethinking Film Festivals in the Pandemic Era and After https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/rethinking-film-festivals-in-the-pandemic-era-and-after By Marijke de Valck and others, ‘Rethinking Film Festivals in the Pandemic Era and After’ was recently published. 25 international authors contributed. 127563 Thu, 09 Feb 2023 15:43:00 +0100 Nieuws Advances in Speech and Music Technology: Computational Aspects and Applications https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/advances-in-speech-and-music-technology-computational-aspects-and-applications The book, edited by Professor of Musicology Emile Wennekes and others, presents developments in speech and music technology in the domain of audio signal processing. 127557 Thu, 09 Feb 2023 14:56:00 +0100 Nieuws Deleuze and Guattari and Fascism https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/deleuze-and-guattari-and-fascism Edited by Rick Dolphijn and Rosi Braidotti, a series of contributions places the philosophy of Deleuze and Guattari in the context of contemporary fascism. 127228 Mon, 30 Jan 2023 14:42:00 +0100 Nieuws ‘Inclusive Media Literary Education for Diverse Societies’, Media & Communication https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/inclusive-media-literary-education-for-diverse-societies-media-communication The thematic issue titled ‘Inclusive Media Literacy Education for Diverse Societies’ was published in the Open Access journal Media & Communication. 126808 Tue, 17 Jan 2023 11:46:00 +0100 Nieuws Badhai: Hijra-Khwaja Sira-Trans Performance across Borders in South Asia https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/badhai-hijra-khwaja-sira-trans-performance-across-borders-in-south-asia ‘Badhai’ is the first full-length book to provide an introduction to ‘badhai’ performances throughout South Asia. 125370 Tue, 22 Nov 2022 13:49:00 +0100 Nieuws ‘Screening Intellectuals: Cinematic Engagements and Postcolonial Activism’, Transnational Screens https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/screening-intellectuals-cinematic-engagements-and-postcolonial-activism-transnational-screens Professor of Media, Gender and Postcolonial Studies Sandra Ponzanesi is co-editor of a special issue of the journal Transnational Screens. 124449 Thu, 20 Oct 2022 11:27:00 +0200 Nieuws Afectos y violencias en la cultura latinoamericana https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/afectos-y-violencias-en-la-cultura-latinoamericana The volume of essays 'Afectos y violencias en la cultura latinoamericana', co-edited by Reindert Dhondt, was recently published. 124206 Wed, 12 Oct 2022 17:27:00 +0200 Nieuws Hawija: The Destructive Realities of Our Remote War Against IS https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/hawija-the-destructive-realities-of-our-remote-war-against-is-0 Jip van Dort, Lauren Gould and Marrit Woudwijk investigated the Dutch attack on Hawija and have compiled their findings in the new publication ‘Hawija’. 123498 Thu, 22 Sep 2022 14:58:00 +0200 Nieuws