Nieuws https://www.uu.nl/en en Fri, 19 Apr 2024 04:32:37 +0200 Fri, 15 Dec 2023 13:15:00 +0100 The Edinburgh Companion to the New European Humanities https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/the-edinburgh-companion-to-the-new-european-humanities Edited by Rosi Braidotti and Daan Oostveen, among others, this volume examines the rise of the ‘New’ Humanities. 136416 Fri, 15 Dec 2023 13:15:00 +0100 Nieuws The Routledge Handbook of Material Religion https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/the-routledge-handbook-of-material-religion This handbook, edited by, among others, Pooyan Tamimi Arab, places objects and bodies at the centre of scholarly studies of religious life and practice. 133956 Thu, 21 Sep 2023 16:18:00 +0200 Nieuws Micah: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/micah-a-new-translation-with-introduction-and-commentary Emeritus Professor Bob Becking recently published this new examination of the 33rd book of the Hebrew Bible, which offers a new theory of its composition history. 133192 Fri, 25 Aug 2023 11:14:00 +0200 Nieuws Wealth and Power: Philosophical Perspectives https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/wealth-and-power-philosophical-perspectives The new book Wealth & Power by Professor of Political Philosophy and Economic Ethics Rutger Claassen, among others, explores the link between wealth and politics. 125174 Thu, 17 Nov 2022 12:34:00 +0100 Nieuws Protestantism as a Worldwide Renewal Movement from 1945 until Today: Panoramic Survey https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/protestantism-as-a-worldwide-renewal-movement-from-1945-until-today-panoramic-survey In his book, Emeritus Professor of Missiology Jan Jongeneel discusses Protestantism in 199 countries around the world. 122608 Mon, 22 Aug 2022 16:39:00 +0200 Nieuws Reason and Religion: Evaluating and Explaining Belief in Gods https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/reason-and-religion-evaluating-and-explaining-belief-in-gods Emeritus Distinguished Professor of Philosophy Herman Philipse examines how probable the existence of God is and what the functions of endorsing religious beliefs are. 120091 Thu, 16 Jun 2022 11:27:00 +0200 Nieuws Israel's Past: Studies on History and Religion in Ancient Israel and Judah https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/israels-past-studies-on-history-and-religion-in-ancient-israel-and-judah This collection of essays by Bob Becking gives an insight into the problems that we encounter when we try to (re)construct events from Israel's past. 110235 Mon, 04 Oct 2021 09:16:00 +0200 Nieuws We and the others https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/we-and-the-others Brigit Meyer wrote an essay in German titled Wir und die Anderen (we and the others) for Rotary Magazin. 109409 Mon, 06 Sep 2021 10:29:00 +0200 Nieuws Prof. dr. Birgit Meyer. Foto: Ed van Rijswijk The Orient in Utrecht https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/the-orient-in-utrecht Last week, Brill published a book about Adriaan Reland, co-edited by various Utrecht University researchers. 108104 Thu, 08 Jul 2021 13:10:00 +0200 Nieuws Book Publication: Refugees and Religion https://www.uu.nl/en/news/book-publication-refugees-and-religion The volume “Refugees and Religion: Ethnographic Studies of Global Trajectories“, edited by Birgit Meyer and Peter van der Veer, has been published in an Open Access-version. 106841 Thu, 27 May 2021 12:33:00 +0200 Nieuws Open Access publication: Refugees and Religion https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/open-access-publication-refugees-and-religion In April, the volume Refugees and Religion edited by Birgit Meyer and Peter van der Veer has been published in an Open Access version. 106163 Mon, 03 May 2021 11:12:00 +0200 Nieuws Transforming Bodies and Religions https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/transforming-bodies-and-religions This book sheds a light on ‘transforming bodies’: bodies that have been subjected to religious or secular contexts in contemporary Europe. 100775 Fri, 23 Oct 2020 10:50:00 +0200 Nieuws Boek Transforming bodies and religions Actualizing Human Rights https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/actualizing-human-rights The book focuses on two challenges to human rights: the challenge of global inequality and the challenge of future people. 96674 Thu, 28 May 2020 13:00:00 +0200 Nieuws Boek Actualizing Human Rights Contributions of UU researchers to new edition of research magazine Material Religion https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/contributions-of-uu-researchers-to-new-edition-of-research-magazine-material-religion With contributions of Birgit Meyer, Frank Kessler and Katja Rakow. 91445 Thu, 13 Feb 2020 13:43:00 +0100 Nieuws The New Jerusalem in cubical form as represented on the website of Never Thirsty. Courtesy of Pat Marvenko Smith ©1982/1992 - www.revelationillustrated.com Figurations and Sensations of the Unseen in Judaism, Christianity and Islam https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/figurations-and-sensations-of-the-unseen-in-judaism-christianity-and-islam Judaism, Christianity and Islam are known to privilege words over images. This book shows, however, that the reality is more complex. 80127 Fri, 28 Jun 2019 10:22:00 +0200 Nieuws Como as coisas importam. Uma abordagem material da religião. Textes de Birgit Meyer https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/como-as-coisas-importam-uma-abordagem-material-da-religiao-textes-de-birgit-meyer UFRGS Editora recently published the book 'Como as coisas importam. Uma abordagem material da religião. Textes de Birgit Meyer.' 75903 Fri, 05 Apr 2019 10:16:00 +0200 Nieuws Ezra and Nehemiah. Historical Commentary on the Old Testament https://www.uu.nl/en/news/ezra-and-nehemiah-historical-commentary-on-the-old-testament Last month the book 'Ezra and Nehemiah' by Bob Becking was published by Peeters Publishers Leuven. 69593 Thu, 29 Nov 2018 10:46:00 +0100 Nieuws Sense and Essence. Heritage and the Cultural Production of the Real https://www.uu.nl/en/news/sense-and-essence-heritage-and-the-cultural-production-of-the-real This summer 'Sense and Essence', edited by Birgit Meyer and Mattijs van de Port, was published by Berghahn Books. 66233 Thu, 13 Sep 2018 09:51:00 +0200 Nieuws Straying from the straight path https://www.uu.nl/en/news/straying-from-the-straight-path Deze bundel gaat over de rol van ervaringen van falen in de alledaagse religiositeit van moslims en christenen op verschillende plekken in de wereld. 54164 Mon, 20 Nov 2017 14:19:00 +0100 Nieuws Jewish Love Magic: From Late Antiquity to the Middle Ages https://www.uu.nl/en/news/jewish-love-magic-from-late-antiquity-to-the-middle-ages Jewish Love Magic is a monograph by Ortal-Paz Saar dedicated to the supernatural methods employed by Jews in order to generate love, grace or hate. 51748 Tue, 01 Aug 2017 10:37:00 +0200 Nieuws