Nieuws https://www.uu.nl/en en Fri, 19 Apr 2024 08:46:06 +0200 Tue, 02 Apr 2024 12:00:00 +0200 Call: Open Cities Reading Circles https://www.uu.nl/en/background/call-open-cities-reading-circles If you are starting a new research project and want to read specific scholarship, we invite you to suggest a reading circle within our Open Cities events. 139199 Tue, 02 Apr 2024 12:00:00 +0200 Nieuws Identity, Community, and Sexuality in Slash Fan Fiction https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/identity-community-and-sexuality-in-slash-fan-fiction Anne Kustritz explores slash fan fiction communities during the late 1990s and early 2000s as the practice transitioned from print to digital circulation. 136347 Wed, 13 Dec 2023 16:22:00 +0100 Nieuws What is limitarianism? Professor Ingrid Robeyns explains https://www.uu.nl/en/in-the-media/what-is-limitarianism-professor-ingrid-robeyns-explains “Extreme wealth is disastrous for society, democracy, and climate”, Professor of Ethics of Institutions Ingrid Robeyns pleads. 131389 Wed, 06 Dec 2023 23:00:00 +0100 Nieuws Robert Vonk appointed as Professor by Special Appointment for History of Social Security https://www.uu.nl/en/news/robert-vonk-appointed-as-professor-by-special-appointment-for-history-of-social-security “The chair focuses on the development of social security in the Netherlands in an international perspective”, Vonk says. 134935 Wed, 25 Oct 2023 12:19:00 +0200 Nieuws Transitions in Art, Culture and Politics https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/transitions-in-art-culture-and-politics Transitions in Art, Culture and Politics is edited in honour of the retirement of Emeritus Professor of Art, Culture and Diversity Rosemarie Buikema. 134799 Fri, 20 Oct 2023 17:05:00 +0200 Nieuws Capital Shortage: Credit and Indian Economic Development, 1920-1960 https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/capital-shortage-credit-and-indian-economic-development-1920-1960 Seeking the roots of persistent poverty, Maanik Nath finds that the pervasive high cost and shortage of capital affected the peasant’s ability to invest in land. 133636 Tue, 12 Sep 2023 11:48:00 +0200 Nieuws Departing Professor Rosemarie Buikema: “Decolonisation does not mean setting fire to a collection” https://www.uu.nl/en/news/departing-professor-rosemarie-buikema-decolonisation-does-not-mean-setting-fire-to-a-collection Professor of Art, Culture and Diversity Rosemarie Buikema will deliver her farewell lecture on 10 October. We meet her in her study, between boxes and piles of books. 133297 Thu, 31 Aug 2023 08:00:00 +0200 Nieuws Having Too Much: Philosophical Essays on Limitarianism https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/having-too-much-philosophical-essays-on-limitarianism Having Too Much is the first academic volume devoted to limitarianism: the idea that the use of economic or ecosystem resources should not exceed certain limits. 132704 Tue, 08 Aug 2023 16:09:00 +0200 Nieuws Recent work by the In/Equality Research Network Members https://www.uu.nl/en/news/recent-work-by-the-inequality-research-network-members The IOS In/Equality network is proud to display the work of its members! In this news article, we have included one of our member's upcoming workshops as well as a recently published article on the topic of inequality. The workshop is aimed at internationals participating in Dutch meetings and the article is a highly interesting read, on 'Stratification mechanisms in the Labour Market of Migrants'. Click this news piece for more information. 131478 Wed, 14 Jun 2023 13:50:00 +0200 Nieuws Contemporary Inequality https://www.uu.nl/en/news/contemporary-inequality Contemporary Inequality: The post-industrial class structure based on four types of capital 130009 Mon, 24 Apr 2023 14:32:00 +0200 Nieuws Gender balance in political decision making https://www.uu.nl/en/news/gender-balance-in-political-decision-making The European Equality Law Network, coordinated by Utrecht University publishes its report on the Promotion of gender balance in political decision-making. 128420 Wed, 08 Mar 2023 12:01:00 +0100 Nieuws