Nieuws https://www.uu.nl/en en Fri, 19 Apr 2024 04:29:06 +0200 Fri, 15 Dec 2023 13:15:00 +0100 The Edinburgh Companion to the New European Humanities https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/the-edinburgh-companion-to-the-new-european-humanities Edited by Rosi Braidotti and Daan Oostveen, among others, this volume examines the rise of the ‘New’ Humanities. 136416 Fri, 15 Dec 2023 13:15:00 +0100 Nieuws The Routledge Handbook of Material Religion https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/the-routledge-handbook-of-material-religion This handbook, edited by, among others, Pooyan Tamimi Arab, places objects and bodies at the centre of scholarly studies of religious life and practice. 133956 Thu, 21 Sep 2023 16:18:00 +0200 Nieuws Ethics of Socially Disruptive Technologies: An Introduction https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/ethics-of-socially-disruptive-technologies-an-introduction Jeroen Hopster, Lorina Buhr, Cindy Friedman, Arthur Gwagwa, and Björn Lundgren contributed to this book on the disruptive potential of technologies. 133667 Tue, 12 Sep 2023 18:07:00 +0200 Nieuws Micah: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/micah-a-new-translation-with-introduction-and-commentary Emeritus Professor Bob Becking recently published this new examination of the 33rd book of the Hebrew Bible, which offers a new theory of its composition history. 133192 Fri, 25 Aug 2023 11:14:00 +0200 Nieuws Having Too Much: Philosophical Essays on Limitarianism https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/having-too-much-philosophical-essays-on-limitarianism Having Too Much is the first academic volume devoted to limitarianism: the idea that the use of economic or ecosystem resources should not exceed certain limits. 132704 Tue, 08 Aug 2023 16:09:00 +0200 Nieuws Moraal: Goed en kwaad van prehistorie tot polarisatie https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/moraal-goed-en-kwaad-van-prehistorie-tot-polarisatie In his book 'Moral', philosopher Hanno Sauer describes the main changes and developments in our moral thinking from 5 million years ago to today. 132613 Thu, 03 Aug 2023 16:10:00 +0200 Nieuws Wealth and Power: Philosophical Perspectives https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/wealth-and-power-philosophical-perspectives The new book Wealth & Power by Professor of Political Philosophy and Economic Ethics Rutger Claassen, among others, explores the link between wealth and politics. 125174 Thu, 17 Nov 2022 12:34:00 +0100 Nieuws Protestantism as a Worldwide Renewal Movement from 1945 until Today: Panoramic Survey https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/protestantism-as-a-worldwide-renewal-movement-from-1945-until-today-panoramic-survey In his book, Emeritus Professor of Missiology Jan Jongeneel discusses Protestantism in 199 countries around the world. 122608 Mon, 22 Aug 2022 16:39:00 +0200 Nieuws Printing Spinoza: A Descriptive Bibliography of the Works Published in the Seventeenth Century (Open Access) https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/printing-spinoza-a-descriptive-bibliography-of-the-works-published-in-the-seventeenth-century-open On 8 July the (open access) book Printing Spinoza, written by Jeroen van de Ven, will be launched. 120815 Mon, 04 Jul 2022 14:23:00 +0200 Nieuws Reason and Religion: Evaluating and Explaining Belief in Gods https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/reason-and-religion-evaluating-and-explaining-belief-in-gods Emeritus Distinguished Professor of Philosophy Herman Philipse examines how probable the existence of God is and what the functions of endorsing religious beliefs are. 120091 Thu, 16 Jun 2022 11:27:00 +0200 Nieuws Israel's Past: Studies on History and Religion in Ancient Israel and Judah https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/israels-past-studies-on-history-and-religion-in-ancient-israel-and-judah This collection of essays by Bob Becking gives an insight into the problems that we encounter when we try to (re)construct events from Israel's past. 110235 Mon, 04 Oct 2021 09:16:00 +0200 Nieuws Serres on Education https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/serres-on-education In this booklet, Iris van der Tuin and Anouk Zuurmond introduce readers to the French philosopher Michel Serres, and his thinking on education. 109838 Mon, 20 Sep 2021 10:53:00 +0200 Nieuws The Philosophy of Matter, a Meditation https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/the-philosophy-of-matter-a-meditation Rick Dolphijn's new book, published by Bloomsbury Press, is a journey in thinking through the material fate of the earth itself. 109455 Tue, 07 Sep 2021 10:34:00 +0200 Nieuws We and the others https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/we-and-the-others Brigit Meyer wrote an essay in German titled Wir und die Anderen (we and the others) for Rotary Magazin. 109409 Mon, 06 Sep 2021 10:29:00 +0200 Nieuws Prof. dr. Birgit Meyer. Foto: Ed van Rijswijk The Orient in Utrecht https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/the-orient-in-utrecht Last week, Brill published a book about Adriaan Reland, co-edited by various Utrecht University researchers. 108104 Thu, 08 Jul 2021 13:10:00 +0200 Nieuws Book Publication: Refugees and Religion https://www.uu.nl/en/news/book-publication-refugees-and-religion The volume “Refugees and Religion: Ethnographic Studies of Global Trajectories“, edited by Birgit Meyer and Peter van der Veer, has been published in an Open Access-version. 106841 Thu, 27 May 2021 12:33:00 +0200 Nieuws Open Access publication: Refugees and Religion https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/open-access-publication-refugees-and-religion In April, the volume Refugees and Religion edited by Birgit Meyer and Peter van der Veer has been published in an Open Access version. 106163 Mon, 03 May 2021 11:12:00 +0200 Nieuws Transforming Bodies and Religions https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/transforming-bodies-and-religions This book sheds a light on ‘transforming bodies’: bodies that have been subjected to religious or secular contexts in contemporary Europe. 100775 Fri, 23 Oct 2020 10:50:00 +0200 Nieuws Boek Transforming bodies and religions Aëtiana V https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/aetiana-v In August, the fifth and last part of the Aëtiana series, written by Jaap Mansfeld and Douwe Runia, was released. 99166 Thu, 03 Sep 2020 11:45:00 +0200 Nieuws Popular Music, Critique and Manic Street Preachers https://www.uu.nl/en/publication/popular-music-critique-and-manic-street-preachers This week Mathijs Peters' book 'Popular Music, Critique and Manic Street Preachers' was published. 99072 Mon, 31 Aug 2020 11:48:00 +0200 Nieuws Mathijs Peters - Popular Music, Critique and Manic Street Preachers