8 May 2017

Subsidies for interdisciplinary top-quality research

Utrecht University represented in four NWO-approved Gravitation programmes

Once again, research teams of top academics from various Dutch universities have been awarded funds for jointly setting up excellent academic research programmes in the coming years. Minister Bussemaker is making available €18.8 million for each programme. Utrecht University is represented in four of these six programmes.

The approved programmes in which Utrecht University and University Medical Center Utrecht are represented include:

  • Materials-driven regeneration: Regenerating tissue and organ function with intelligent, life-like materials
    Research in the field of regenerative medicine which deploys the self-healing capacity of the body for curing diseased or injured tissues and organs.
  • Netherlands Organ-on-Chip Initiative
    Developing miniature organs on microchips for research into specific diseases.
  • Anchoring Innovation
    Research into innovation processes on the basis of Greek-Roman antiquity.
  • SCOOP: Sustainable Cooperation - Roadmaps to a Resilient Society
    Research into new solutions to promote sustainable cooperation.


The funding will enable researchers to conduct top-quality academic research and enter into collaborations at the highest academic level for ten years. The contribution is part of the Gravitation programme funded by the Ministry of Education, Culture and Science (OCW), which has asked the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO) to select research groups. In these groups, academics from various universities join forces to set up excellent academic research programmes.

NWO received funding 37 applications within the context of Gravitation. The assessment, mutual comparison and selection were carried out by experts and an independent international committee of academics with extensive knowledge of academic developments and experience in large academic research groups.

The six teams will receive their Gravitation awards in a ceremony to be held  at the Ministry of Education, Culture and Science in The Hague on Monday 8 May, 3:00 – 4:30 PM