Krijn de Jong receives Eminent Visitor award from Catalysis Society of South Africa

Krijn de Jong

The Catalysis Society of South Africa (CATSA) has awarded the 2017 Eminent Visitor award to Prof. Krijn de Jong. CATSA aims to recognise excellence in catalysis research by overseas scientists. In acknowledgement of their significant contributions, an Eminent Visitor Award is presented to an influential researcher at the annual CATSA conference. These awards include a lecture tour of selected universities and main catalysis research centres in South Africa. Prof. de Jong will visit and lecture at universities in Cape Town, Johannesburg and Durban and the Sasol laboratories in Sasolburg. Furthermore, he will be the plenary speaker of the 2017 CATSA Conference in Pilanesberg National Park. De Jong will receive the award at the conference dinner. 

De Jong researches new methods for making chemical products – like plastics, cleaning products and antifreeze – in a sustainable way. All of these products are currently made from petroleum. De Jong and his team have devised a catalyst that enables biomass to be converted into the exact same building blocks. This allows the same quality of sustainable products to be made without the use of petroleum.

Krijn de Jong

De Jong studied Chemistry and Technical Chemistry at the Utrecht University and the University of Twente and obtained his PhD degree in catalysis. He subsequently worked as a researcher at Shell Research for 15 years. He has been Professor of Inorganic Chemistry and Catalysis at Utrecht University since 1997. He is also the Scientific Director of the Debye Institute for Nanomaterials and a member of BP's Technology Advisory Council.


For his work, the Utrecht scientist has received numerous national and international awards, including the NWO TOP Research Grant in 2008 and the Award for Excellence in Natural Gas Conversion in 2013. Also in 2013, he received an ERC Advanced Grant of 2.5 million Euros for research into nanoparticles and catalysis. In 2015, he was invited to join the Academia Europaea.