9 June 2016

Three Utrecht physicists rewarded for active participation

Kobus Kuipers, Dries van Oosten and Marjolein Vollebregt appointed as NNV Members of Honour

The General Management of the Netherlands’ Physical Society (NNV) appointed four Members of Honour at its general meeting on 8 April. These are members who have made a large, active contribution to this Society of and for physicists. Three of them are employed at the Faculty of Science at Utrecht University.

Active contribution

Prof.dr. Kobus Kuipers was rewarded for his active role as chairman of the Dutch organisation for the International Year of Light 2015 (IYL2015). Dr. Dries van Oosten was both treasurer for the IYL2015 and initiator of the school experiment De Nationale Lichtmeting. He managed to make a success out of IYL2015 with limited resources: throughout 2015 a variety of activities were developed. Dr. Marjolein Vollebregt (Freudenthal Institute) has been a member of the board at NNV multiple times, and in her role as a board delegate she has built a bridge between the editorial office of NTvN (Nederlands Tijdschrift voor Natuurkunde) and the board. Her original and wise perspective on matters allowed her to make valuable contributions to the board’s discussions.