2 November 2017

Gerrit van Meer elected member of the Academia Europaea

Gerrit van Meer

Dean Gerrit van Meer of the Faculty of Science has been elected as a member of the Academia Europaea. Members of the Academia Europaea are scientists from every field of expertise who have been nominated in recognition of their contributions to European science. Van Meer is also a member of the European Academy for the Life Sciences (EMBO) and the KNAW.

Until his appointment as Dean in 2011, Gerrit van Meer served as Professor of Membrane Enzymology at Utrecht University’s Department of Chemistry. Before that, he was also a professor at the UvA and the AMC. His research focuses mainly on lipids; fatty substances that perform a variety of functions in the cell membrane. In addition to his scientific work, Van Meer has served in a number of administrative and advisory positions.

Academia Europaea

The Academia Europaea was founded in 1988 to advance and propagate excellence in scholarship. Members are elected for life. The new members of the Academia Europaea will be inaugurated in spring 2018.