27 August 2019

Erik van Sebille wins James B. Macelwane medal

Erik van Sebille

The American Geophysical Union has awarded this year's James B. Macelwane medal to oceanographer Erik van Sebille, along with four other laureates. "It is a great honour to receive this award," says Van Sebille.

The James B. Macelwane Medal is given annually in recognition for significant contributions to the geophysical sciences by outstanding early career scientists. The award bears the name of former AGU president James B. Macelwane, who was renowned for his contributions to geophysics and his deep interest in teaching and encouraging young scientists.

Erik van Sebille

Oceanographer Erik van Sebille studies how ocean currents transport heat, nutrients, marine organisms and plastic litter between different regions of the ocean. In 2016 he received an ERC Starting Grant of 1.5 Million Euros to investigate how plastic moves in the ocean. Van Sebille was admitted to the Young Academy of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2018, and won the 2019 UU Publi Prize.