1 August 2018

2018 AGU section awardees and named lecturers announced

Early-career awards for Lennart de Groot and Ylona van Dinther

The American Geophysical Union (AGU), the world’s largest Earth and Space science society, has announced its 2018 section awardees and named lecturers. Among the 24 sections of AGU, there are 21 awards for early-career scientists. It pleases us very much that two of these recognitions are given to Earth scientists Dr Lennart de Groot and Dr Ylona van Dinther.

The William Gilbert Award 2018 from the section Geomagnetism, Paleomagnetism, and Electromagnetism is awarded to Lennart de Groot for outstanding and unselfish work in magnetism of Earth materials and of the Earth and planets. Lennart is Assistant Professor in the Paleomagnetism group of the Department of Earth Sciences at Fort Hoofddijk. His main research interests are the fluctuations in the Earth’s magnetic field, that preserves our planet’s atmosphere and deflects most of the solar wind.

Naturally, it’s very nice that my work and efforts are appreciated in this way. I like to do my research in an innovative and interdisciplinary way. I often 'borrow' techniques from different fields, such as material sciences, and apply these to rock-magnetic research. I see this prize primarily as a confirmation and as an incentive to continue and expand my research in this way.
Dr Lennart de Groot

The Jason Morgan Early Career Award 2018 from the section Tectonophysics is awarded to Ylona van Dinther for outstanding and significant early career contributions to tectonophysics through a combination of research, education, and outreach activities. Ylona is currently employed at ETH Zürich and she will join our Department of Earth Sciences in October as new Assistant Professor in the Tectonics group. Her main research interests evolve around earthquake physics and geodynamics.

The formal recognition of the honorees and their achievements will take place at the AGU’s Fall Meeting this December in Washington D.C.

The full list of this year’s awardees and named lecturers is announced here.