10 June 2014

Students combine knowledge and expertise from Utrecht and Eindhoven

Bachelor student Pieter-Bart Peters wins Science and Technology Student Award

Pieter-Bart Peters, Bachelor student of Chemistry, Mathematics and Physics won the Science and Technology Student Award for his proposal for a Bachelor thesis. He received a prize of 2,500 euros. Master student Bart Lutters won this Award for his Master thesis.

The Science and Technology Student Award was established as part of the alliance between TU Eindhoven, Utrecht University and University Medical Center Utrecht. The prizes are intended to challenge young talent, to improve interdisciplinary knowledge and to stimulate educational cooperation between the various institutes. The prizes were handed over during a joint alliance symposium in Utrecht. 

Winner of the Bachelor award

Pieter-Bart Peter is a Bachelor student of Chemistry, Mathematics and Physics at Utrecht University. According to the judges, he created a technologically challenging and innovative project called Blue Energy. Blue Energy is sustainable energy which can be generated by mixing two fluids with different sodium contents. This project is the perfect example of a combination of theorisation as established in Utrecht and experiments as conducted in Eindhoven.

Winner of Master award

Bart Lutters, Master student of SUMMA UMC Utrecht, wrote a proposal about MRS detection of 2-hydroxyglutarate to predict epilepsy in patients with brain tumours. The judges found his proposal very mature, challenging and innovative and praised this medical students for wanting to use technology to tackle a major social problem.

Strategic alliance between Eindhoven and Utrecht

As of 2011, Utrecht University, UMC Utrecht and TU Eindhoven have had a strategic alliance, with which they reinforce existing relations in research, education and knowledge valorisation while continuing from the areas in which they complement each other. The focus of their alliance is on sustainable energy, medical image processing and regenerative medicine. 


The jury of the Science and Technology Student Awards consisted of:

  • Professor G. van Kooten (UU)

  • Professor C.T.W. Moonen (UMC Utrecht)

  • Professor C.V.C. Bouten (TU/e)

More information

Video of the partcipants of the Science and Technology Student Awards

Monica van der Garde, Press Officer of the Faculty of Science, m.vandergarde@uu.nl +31 6 13 66 14 38.