Living in the Province of Utrecht

The Province of Utrecht is roughly the same size as London, the UK's capital city. The Municipality of Utrecht is just one of the twenty-six municipalities of the Province of Utrecht. 

Student with bike walking out of parking space with a lot of bicycles.

Because student accommodation in the Municipality of Utrecht is hard to find, students frequently find accommodation in the surrounding municipalities such as De Bilt, Bilthoven, IJsselstein, Zeist, Bunnik, Maarssen, Nieuwegein and Amersfoort (see map below).

Getting around

The Dutch government provides for safe cycling tracks that are separated from the road. The Utrecht region also has an excellent public transport network. This means the city and Utrecht University are easily commutable from the neighbouring municipalities by bike, train, tram or bus.

A small map of the Netherlands in which Utrecht is highlighted in the middle and a large map of the province of Utrecht in which the city of Utrecht is highlighted in the middle.