PhD education and training

Education and training for PhD candidates of the Graduate School of Life Sciences is provided by the PhD Course Centre and the disciplinary PhD Programmes.

Starting from 2018, the PhD Course Centre needs to charge course participants a modest fee. We will handle two types of course fees: one for internal PhD candidates and one for external participants. Please note that you can use your personal course budget of €400/year (€1,600 max) to pay for these courses. This budget is managed by your department (faculty of Science/Veterinary Medicine) or your Division (UMC Utrecht).

PhD Course Centre

E.g., 03/17/2018
Friday 11 May 2018 09:00 to Friday 22 June 2018 12:00
This course offers practical guidelines for a successful approach of your (future) writing task.
Monday 14 May 2018 15:00 to 17:00
During this informal meetup, we will help each other with R programming, data handling and cleaning challenges.
Tuesday 15 May 2018 09:00 to Wednesday 16 May 2018 17:00
Learn the do's and don'ts of editing digital pictures for your research project or publication.
Tuesday 15 May 2018 09:30 to Tuesday 12 June 2018 17:30
During this course you will optimize your writing process and create a readable and exciting text.
Monday 21 May 2018 to Monday 9 July 2018
This online course offers practical guidelines for a successful approach of your (future) writing task.
Tuesday 22 May 2018 09:00 to Wednesday 6 June 2018 17:00
This course provides an introduction in statistical methodology and discusses a number of statistical techniques for practical data analysis.
Monday 28 May 2018 14:00 to Monday 2 July 2018 17:00
After learning the techniques you will be asked to apply them to your current article and will receive personal feedback.
Monday 4 June 2018 to Sunday 1 July 2018
You will learn what makes a grant proposal more likely to succeed and how you can apply this insight to your own grant proposal.
Monday 4 June 2018 09:00 to Friday 15 June 2018 17:00
Two-week introductory course on bioinformatics for Life Sciences
Monday 4 June 2018 13:15 to 16:15
Learn how to set priorities and what personal time-management and self-management skills you need to carry out your plans!