PhD Council GS-LS

The PhD Council GS-LS consists of representative PhD candidates of the programme committees of the 14 PhD programmes. The PhD Council makes up the voice of the PhD candidates and aims to improve the quality of PhD education and the regulations related to their graduation.

Activities of the PhD Council include the composition of annual reports about individual programmes and discussion of those with the Executive Board of Studies (E-BoS), organisation of the annual PhD Day and bimonthly PhD events (first Friday of even months). The PhD Council meets once per month with the Coordinator of Doctoral Education of the GS-LS to discuss a variety of PhD business. The chair represents the PhD Council in the E-BoS.

General info and contact

PhD programme representatives

Jan van der Beek, MSc.


Maaike Allers, MSc.
Cancer, Stem Cells & Developmental Biology


Stephanie van der Voorn, MSc.
Cardiovascular research


Valeria Bonapersona, MSc.
Clinical & Experimental Neuroscience


Alexander Constantinides, MD
Clinical & Translational Oncology


Julian Vosseberg, MSc.
Computational Life Sciences



Guilherme Ferreira, MSc.
Drug Innovation


Laura Dijkhuizen, MSc. (Chair)
Environmental Biology


Ian Smith, MSc.


Mui Pham, MSc.


Dennis Doorduijn, MSc.
Infection & Immunity


Bianca den Dekker, MSc.
Medical Imaging


Nadine Prust, MSc.
Molecular Life Sciences


Suze Jansen, MD
Regenerative Medicine


Jeroen Meijer, MSc
Toxicology & Environmental Health