In the field of education, Utrecht University cooperates with a range of different parties at the regional, national and international level. Here are some examples of such partnerships:

Utrecht Network

Within the Utrecht Network, Utrecht University collaborates with 32 universities in 28 European countries. The aim of this network is to promote student and faculty exchanges among the 32 members of the Utrecht Network, as well as with university networks outside Europe. The Utrecht Network cooperates with fourteen universities of Mid America Universities International (MAUI) and the seven Australian universities of the Australian-European Network (AEN).

League of European Research Universities

The League of European Research Universities (LERU) is an association of twenty prominent, like-minded European research universities.  Through this partnership, they want to influence the European policy agenda in the fields of research, education and innovation.

Utrecht University Partners

Utrecht University collaborates with a number of top international universities: the Utrecht University Partners (UUPs). These research universities carry out high-quality research related to one of Utrecht University's research focus areas and collaborate with various faculties. To promote these collaborations, funds are made available for specific activities. For more information on (additional) funding, please look at the Open Calls page.

Erasmus Mundus Programme

The Erasmus Mundus Programme strives to improve and promote the quality of European higher education.  With this goal in mind, the programme encourages collaboration with higher education institutions within and outside the EU and awards grants to participants from non-EU/EEA countries.

Strategic alliance between Eindhoven and Utrecht

Since 2011, Utrecht University, UMC Utrecht and TU Eindhoven have formed a strategic alliance. Through this, they strengthen their existing ties in research, education and the transfer of knowledge and build on areas where they complement one another. The partnership focuses on sustainable energy, medical imaging and regenerative medicine. The joint Master's programme in Regenerative Medicine and Technology combines biomedical science with technology, and SUMMA tech is a training programme for doctors/researchers who have an affinity for technology.

HU University of Applied Sciences

HU University of Applied Sciences (HU) and Utrecht University cooperate with each other in many different areas. The Centre for Study Choice organises workshops on study programme selection for students of Utrecht University and HU University of Applied Sciences.  In addition, Utrecht University students can simultaneously obtain their Bachelor's degree in Pedagogy as well as their teaching qualification for primary education by participating in the Academic Teacher Training Programme for Primary Education (academische lerarenopleiding primair onderwijs, ALPO). 

Pre-master's programme

HU University of Applied Sciences and Utrecht University have developed a number of joint Pre-Master's programmes. These allow HU students to start a Master's programme at Utrecht University immediately after obtaining their higher professional education (HBO) diploma.

Secondary Education

The Center for Education and learning (in Dutch) focuses on educational innovation and closely cooperates with secondary schools. In the seconday school networkAansluiting VO-WO’, Utrecht University works with secondary schools and other partners in the field of education, with the aim of ensuring quality education. The University wants to share knowledge and improve the quality of education. The Graduate School of Teaching, in close collaboration with secondary schools, takes care of teacher training and educative minors in 18 secondary school subjects.