Utrecht University works intensively with other organisations in matters relating to teaching and research, in the Netherlands and elsewhere. These collaborations result in innovation and economic development and help to solve societal issues.


samenwerkende mensen achter een beeldscherm

Utrecht network

The Utrecht Network is an alliance with 32 universities from 28 European countries. The Utrecht Network, in turn, cooperates with the fourteen universities of Mid America Universities International (MAUI) and the seven Australian universities of the Australian-European Network (AEN).


Utrecht University is a member of the League of European Research Universities (LERU). The LERU is an association of leading research-led universities that seek to use their cooperation to influence policy in Europe in the areas of research, teaching and innovation.


Utrecht University is part of the network Charm-EU. This network that consists of universities in Europe has the goal to provide interdisciplinary, challenge-based education. More on Charm-EU.

Coimbra Group

Utrecht University has joined the Coimbra Group. The Coimbra Group is an association of long-established European multidisciplinary universities of high international standard. The Coimbra Group is committed to creating special academic and cultural ties in order to promote internationalisation, academic collaboration, excellence in learning and research, and service to society. Read more about the Coimbra Group or contact Bart van de Laar,

Cooperation Toronto & Hong Kong

In April 2016 Utrecht University joined forces in an trilateral agreement with the University of Toronto and the Chinese University of Hong Kong to work together in the areas of public health, migration and city science.

Scientists from each university are invited to share data and expertise. The tripartite Global Public Health Research Programme “Novel Investigative Tools and Big-Data to Discover Modifiable Risk Factors: The Exposome” will kick start the cooperation.

China Scholarship Council

The China Scholarship Council is a welcome initiative in the area of international cooperation: outstanding students from China can obtain a grant to complete their PhD in Utrecht

National partnerships

Onderzoekers van de Universiteit Utrecht in een laboratorium

Knowledge alliance Eindhoven-Wageningen-Utrecht

Eindhoven University of Technology, Wageningen University & Research, Utrecht University and University Medical Center Utrecht will intensify their collaboration. This collaboration will focus on: energy, nutrition, health and circular society. More on the Utrecht-Eindhoven-Wageningen alliance.

Strategic alliance between Eindhoven and Utrecht

Since 2011, Utrecht University, University Medical Center Utrecht and TU Eindhoven have been in a strategic alliance. Through this, they are strengthening their existing ties in research, education and the transfer of knowledge, and building upon areas where they complement one another. The partnership focuses on sustainable energy, medical imaging and regenerative medicine. More on the Utrecht-Eindhoven alliance.

UMC Utrecht

The Faculty of Medicine of Utrecht University and the UMC Utrecht work together in the field of education and research into patient care. The various tasks are carried out at the UMC Utrecht site and under the responsibility of UMC Utrecht.

Utrecht Science Park

Utrecht University, the University Medical Center Utrecht and dozens of innovative businesses and research institutes have pooled their resources at the Utrecht Science Park. This has turned the Utrecht Science Park (USP) into the beating heart of Utrecht’s knowledge-based economy. More on Utrecht Science Park.

Economic Board Utrecht

Utrecht University is a participant on the Economic Board Utrecht (Dutch website). The EBU stimulates innovation and collaboration between businesses, knowledge institutions, and public sector bodies with the aim of creating a green, healthy, and smart region.