In Europe, Utrecht University sees the 22 members of the League of European Research Universities (LERU) as Utrecht University Partners (UUPs).


Utrecht University is a participant in various international research projects by European consortia and research networks. Much of the collaboration takes place within EU grant programmes such as the Framework Programmes for Research and Technological Development.


University-wide educational collaboration in Europe is primarily organised through the following programmes:

  • theĀ Utrecht Network, particularly for staff and student exchanges
  • The European Commission Erasmus programme, including staff and student exchanges.
  • The Erasmus Mundus programme, a European Commission programme aimed at enhancing the quality of higher education in Europe. Universities in Europe can use this programme to offer a top-quality joint Master's programme. Utrecht University has two English-language Erasmus Mundus Master's programmes: